Skip to main content
edited to rephrase and leave out the multitude of questions I had when thinking about this. I'm asking more for a method to figure this out I suppose
Source Link
Shawn
  • 39
  • 2

Living on a moon with an atmosphere, how often would the planet block outinteract with the sun in the sky?

I am curious that if there were a gas giant sitting close to a red dwarf with an Earth-like satellite orbiting it:

  1. How often would the gas giant block out the sun?
  2. Would that ever happen?
  3. How big would it appear in the sky?
  4. How often would it appear in the sky?
  5. Could I see an example of how we could determine this with the math done?

How could we determine the way the planet appears in the sky and the way it interacts with the sun as a celestial object?
Or in other words, how does the planet in the sky appear and when would it do so given certain parameters?

I know this is a pretty complex question with a lot of questions in onethings implied, but I just don't even know where to start for this stuff.

Living on a moon with an atmosphere, how often would the planet block out the sun in the sky?

I am curious that if there were a gas giant sitting close to a red dwarf with an Earth-like satellite orbiting it:

  1. How often would the gas giant block out the sun?
  2. Would that ever happen?
  3. How big would it appear in the sky?
  4. How often would it appear in the sky?
  5. Could I see an example of how we could determine this with the math done?

I know this is a lot of questions in one, but I just don't even know where to start for this stuff

Living on a moon with an atmosphere, how would the planet interact with the sun in the sky?

I am curious that if there were a gas giant sitting close to a red dwarf with an Earth-like satellite orbiting it:

How could we determine the way the planet appears in the sky and the way it interacts with the sun as a celestial object?
Or in other words, how does the planet in the sky appear and when would it do so given certain parameters?

I know this is a pretty complex question with a lot of things implied, but I just don't even know where to start for this stuff.

Source Link
Shawn
  • 39
  • 2

Living on a moon with an atmosphere, how often would the planet block out the sun in the sky?

I am curious that if there were a gas giant sitting close to a red dwarf with an Earth-like satellite orbiting it:

  1. How often would the gas giant block out the sun?
  2. Would that ever happen?
  3. How big would it appear in the sky?
  4. How often would it appear in the sky?
  5. Could I see an example of how we could determine this with the math done?

I know this is a lot of questions in one, but I just don't even know where to start for this stuff