Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 17, 2019 at 2:39 comment added Arkenstein XII Honestly, radar probably translates readily into echolocation. Humans have to go through the process of translating radio echoes into a visual format so that we can interpret them. Echolocating aliens likely would have a much simpler time of things.
Apr 16, 2019 at 16:15 comment added tfrascaroli @Baldrickk Yes, I was thinking about that. I think the most obvious would be sound, since smell is hard to integrate with electronics, and I don't think it would be the first approach. Other methods could be a vibrating vest, like you "feel" the pressure where the terrain/other objects is closest to you. I really don't know if that makes sense, I guess that's up to the OP to decide.
Apr 16, 2019 at 16:09 comment added Baldrickk Ah, my bad ;) I could see paragliding or microlights working well as early aircraft, until some sort of radar sensing system could be developed in that case - the biggest hurdle being how to inform the pilot of what the radar is sensing.
Apr 16, 2019 at 16:07 comment added tfrascaroli @Baldrickk Sure, I meant flying by plane, since that is what I think the OP implies in the question. But yes, if the aliens can fly like a bat, then I guess there's no need for planes.
Apr 16, 2019 at 16:05 comment added Baldrickk Bats fly perfectly fine relying on echolocation. They do typically have good eyesight, but they don't rely on it.
Apr 16, 2019 at 15:13 history answered tfrascaroli CC BY-SA 4.0