Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • $\begingroup$ Bats fly perfectly fine relying on echolocation. They do typically have good eyesight, but they don't rely on it. $\endgroup$
    – Baldrickk
    Commented Apr 16, 2019 at 16:05
  • $\begingroup$ @Baldrickk Sure, I meant flying by plane, since that is what I think the OP implies in the question. But yes, if the aliens can fly like a bat, then I guess there's no need for planes. $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 16, 2019 at 16:07
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Ah, my bad ;) I could see paragliding or microlights working well as early aircraft, until some sort of radar sensing system could be developed in that case - the biggest hurdle being how to inform the pilot of what the radar is sensing. $\endgroup$
    – Baldrickk
    Commented Apr 16, 2019 at 16:09
  • $\begingroup$ @Baldrickk Yes, I was thinking about that. I think the most obvious would be sound, since smell is hard to integrate with electronics, and I don't think it would be the first approach. Other methods could be a vibrating vest, like you "feel" the pressure where the terrain/other objects is closest to you. I really don't know if that makes sense, I guess that's up to the OP to decide. $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 16, 2019 at 16:15
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ Honestly, radar probably translates readily into echolocation. Humans have to go through the process of translating radio echoes into a visual format so that we can interpret them. Echolocating aliens likely would have a much simpler time of things. $\endgroup$ Commented Apr 17, 2019 at 2:39