Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 21, 2019 at 18:20 comment added MadCake - Reinstate Monica I mean I'm not sure it is possible for the result of tectonic plate motion to be a map where all the land is located on one side of the equator as the nature of this process (which I'm not familiar with) might tend to distribute land equally to some extent. Though I googled a bit more and found this (in short - if Mars had oceans most of it's land would be located in one hemisphere): quora.com/…
Feb 21, 2019 at 18:07 comment added zeph @MadCake you mean, how the asymmetry could affect the planet while it spins?
Feb 21, 2019 at 18:05 comment added MadCake - Reinstate Monica Thanks for the answer. My main concern was the asymmetry. I do not know how exactly the tectonic plate motion works so I can only make baseless assumptions on this part. I can imagine it is affected by something alike to Brownian motion which would in the end distribute the floating particles more or less uniformly.
Feb 21, 2019 at 17:50 history answered zeph CC BY-SA 4.0