Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 31, 2012 at 13:09 comment added bethlakshmi For the record, I have done EXACTLY that - only slightly more abruptly as I had a hard stop in 15 minutes, so I didn't have time to beat around the bush. My abrupt "I think I'm a bad fit" prompted an AWESOME 15 minute discussion, and a call back for a second interview with the founders of the company.
Aug 31, 2012 at 13:08 comment added bethlakshmi I disagree - it's a matter of wording... "I'm a bit concerned that based on everything you've said, I wouldn't be happy here, and likely you would not be happy with me, either... here's my concerns (insert concerns) - what are your thoughts?" then if the discussion doesn't turn the impression around, follow up with "it sounds like we agree to disagree... I don't want to waste your time, do you still a reason to continue" is a pretty gentle version of this conversation, and I think letting them stew by abruptly leaving and following up later is not likely to yeild better results.
Aug 30, 2012 at 23:08 comment added monksy The last option is a bad idea. It automatically puts them on defensive. This is not a position that you want to put them at. Politely leaving, and suggesting a later interview by phone may be better.
Aug 29, 2012 at 15:01 comment added Dani This is an excellent answer; feedback is stressed, and it addresses the "result" part of intent/action/result when considering the possibility of rudeness in an action. It also adds the idea that preliminary interviews, if any, were unsuccessful, and how either party could have changed that. All in all, very helpful advice in order to save time, and save face.
Aug 29, 2012 at 13:30 history answered bethlakshmi CC BY-SA 3.0