Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 141
    I think this is overly critical. Most companies I've seen won't tell you why they aren't interested in hiring you. That does go both ways.
    – Ed Ropple
    Commented Aug 29, 2012 at 14:36
  • 80
    @EdRopple While true, does that make it not rude? I don't think so. Don't you prefer when they do tell you why you didn't get the job so you can improve? Just because one side acts in a way that is less ideal doesn't mean you have to follow suit. Communication is underrated, and fairly easy to accomplish. Even if you're the only one trying, you benefit in the long run; companies that want you will try to suit your needs if only you would take the time to tell them what they are.
    – Dani
    Commented Aug 29, 2012 at 14:44
  • 7
    This answer is most-correct because it addresses the impact to image/reputation that a job-seeker suffers from not being mature enough to provide clear feedback. When I've stopped the interview process, the person(s) that interviewed me always knew the details of why. This always fell back on the recruiter for poorly-matching, as wasting everyone's time. Craigslist Jobs: you're on your own. Commented Aug 29, 2012 at 18:07
  • 5
    I don't think any company can offer to change it's culture on a dime, so I wouldn't take such an offer seriously Commented Apr 8, 2017 at 20:35
  • 3
    I would say that it is about how you do it. There is a difference between: "Where is the elevator?" and "I appreciate your interest but I believe that..." I once had fun chat over a coffee after we both noticed that I was in the wrong place because the recruiter had used glamorous data/system science words for glorifying a basic coding job. Commented Oct 6, 2019 at 14:23