Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 13, 2018 at 22:01 comment added wilson0x4d TL;DR: "you should roll the hard six before walking out." This 110%, but I enter into a Socratic dialog about what is ending the interview.. On one occasion I had a panel of 3 princ. engs. grilling me toward EOD (as expected), and each managed a group. One was dripping with animosity. After understanding his group/resp. I told him I had no interest working for him, nor any of the tech his team is assigned, that my real passion was in specific/other areas of eng., I got a fist-bump from one of the other engs. and an offer the next day doing precisely what I wanted for more than I asked for.
Feb 21, 2018 at 14:39 comment added DLS3141 An "Open Office Plan" is a good enough reason to NOT want to work someplace.
Oct 13, 2017 at 14:37 comment added user42272 @theanyi idk you're kind of being paid to make better decisions than your taste buds do at a buffet. Not that I'm particularly following your analogy (and if you keep kosher then I definitely do not.)
Oct 11, 2017 at 16:22 comment added iheanyi @djechlin I don't like shrimp. If I see a food platter that has shrimp on the side, I have a hard time getting over my initial prejudice of shrimp to try the rest of the food. Normally, it would be ok for me to simply ignore/not eat random food platters at a party. However, if this food was expressly prepared for me, and the cook happened to not get the memo about my dislike, it would be rude for me to not at least try the stuff I can eat. Having prejudice is not necessarily a bad thing. Acting immediately on it, versus taking time to verify whether there's truly a problem can be rude.
Nov 11, 2015 at 4:05 comment added user42272 Odd that you dismiss dress code / floor plan concerns as prejudice. Unclear why you think spending 15 or 25 or whatever minutes then leaving is "not rude" while leaving within 5 minutes is "prejudiced, hence rude."
Nov 9, 2015 at 4:23 comment added Móż I have had this from a traditional company as well, the owner in his late 50's was obviously taken aback when I attempted to negotiate conditions of employment. So obviously that I made some non-committal remark about cultural fit and left. A lot of employers assume they they have all the power and have never thought about suggestions coming from the other side of the table. That, obviously, bodes ill for any later employment relationship, and is IMO an argument for negotiating something, anything, during an interview.
Oct 6, 2012 at 6:38 comment added jmoreno A good example of why you might want to leave early thedailywtf.com/Articles/…
Sep 1, 2012 at 22:47 comment added Matt Cashatt Karl always has a great outlook on these things, and I agree with his assessment: he was doing them a favor so long as he handled his exit tactfully. More often than not, I find that it is the interviewees time that is wasted because the interviewer didn't do his homework on the candidate or was too "polite" to stop short and say, "you know, you have great promise for some organizations out there, but ours is not the best fit for you".
Aug 30, 2012 at 16:34 vote accept maple_shaft
Aug 29, 2012 at 14:22 comment added looneydoodle I was interviewing a someone for a combined UI/UX + Front End Engineer job and 10 mins in he asked what we were expecting and realized he only does UX. He said he wouldnt be suitable and I thanked him for not wasting our time.
Aug 29, 2012 at 6:56 comment added Daniel B A while back I was involved in an interview where the interviewee phoned 5 minutes before the meeting, and said he didn't like the area our offices were in (basically a downtown slum), and felt he shouldn't even waste our time. He wasn't telling us anything new, and we thanked him for being honest. An interview takes several hours away from both sides, so as long as the "abort" happens courteously, there's nothing wrong.
Aug 28, 2012 at 20:24 comment added Dan This++. I can't put my finger on exactly why, but I think that if someone did this to me in an interview, I would want them more. Being able to identify time-wasting activities is a big part of being an effective lead.. I mean, if they felt comfortable identifying an interview as a waste of time, imagine what they could do for your business. :)
Aug 28, 2012 at 17:49 history answered Karl Bielefeldt CC BY-SA 3.0