Skip to main content

What do you do when in a job interview they ask youI say about amy previous job that it, which was just horrible, in a new job interview?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackWorkplace/status/510170568633483264
Removed a lot of text, anonimyzed company, added an actual question
Source Link
user8036
user8036

Let me explain my situation. Last year iI worked as contractor for IBMcompany C for one of their multiple projects. Long story short: It was pure hell. If you want more details, this is what happened: The

(The HR company that hired me to work for IBM toldinformed me i was going to work as a Java Developer, onincorrectly about the first day on my job i learn that was not the casebeing Java development, i wasn't going to develop nor program anything.

X company bought Y company, then X company was going to getgot rid of most of all IT staffknowledgeable people from Y, including programmers, developers...hell, most of the people that knew how their current system and programs work. So X company hires IBM to givehired C for support and manage the programs, databases and such.

My job, that was to learn how X number of programs from Y company worked to give them support and troubleshoot in case of something went wrong. And so my nightmare beginsjob.

  Long tedious hours, unpaid extra hours, incompetent bosses willing to put the blame on you whenever something went wrong (even if it was the management's fault and you had proof After all i was just a replaceable contractor so they could do whatever they wanted), lack of without sleep due to ridiculous deadlines). No licenses to the programs that we needed to work with (I almost had to crack a visual studio license just so i could work when the responsibility of the Y company programs go to IBM 100%, no licensed software, etc).

And much, much more. I even had health issuedissues due the lack of sleep/stress/malnutrition (i had nono time to eat properly due to deadlines).

It was unbearable, i just simple broke and had to I quit after 3 months.

So, after all thisNow I'm looking for another job. However iI have doubts listing IBMC in my resume due to my experience. I'm worried when on an interview for a job they see me as unreliable, and iI know you're not supposed to talk bad about your previous employer, however iI can't say a single good thing from my short time at IBMC.

Do I list C? What do I tell when an interviewer asks opinions/evaluations about my job at C?

Let me explain my situation. Last year i worked as contractor for IBM for one of their multiple projects. Long story short: It was pure hell. If you want more details, this is what happened: The HR company that hired me to work for IBM told me i was going to work as a Java Developer, on the first day on my job i learn that was not the case, i wasn't going to develop nor program anything.

X company bought Y company, then X company was going to get rid of most of all IT staff from Y, including programmers, developers...hell, most of the people that knew how their current system and programs work. So X company hires IBM to give support and manage the programs, databases and such.

My job was to learn how X number of programs from Y company worked to give them support and troubleshoot in case of something went wrong. And so my nightmare begins.

  Long tedious hours, unpaid extra hours, incompetent bosses willing to put the blame on you whenever something went wrong (even if it was the management's fault and you had proof After all i was just a replaceable contractor so they could do whatever they wanted), lack of without sleep due to ridiculous deadlines). No licenses to the programs that we needed to work with (I almost had to crack a visual studio license just so i could work when the responsibility of the Y company programs go to IBM 100%).

And much, much more. I even had health issued due the lack of sleep/stress/malnutrition (i had no time to eat properly due to deadlines).

It was unbearable, i just simple broke and had to quit after 3 months.

So, after all this I'm looking for another job. However i have doubts listing IBM in my resume due to my experience. I'm worried when on an interview for a job they see me as unreliable, and i know you're not supposed to talk bad about your previous employer, however i can't say a single good thing from my short time at IBM.

Last year I worked as contractor for company C for one of their projects. Long story short: It was pure hell.

(The HR company that hired me informed me incorrectly about the job being Java development, X company bought Y company, then X company got rid of most knowledgeable people from Y, hired C for support and such, that was my job. Long tedious hours, unpaid extra hours, incompetent bosses, ridiculous deadlines, no licensed software, etc).

I even had health issues due the lack of sleep/stress/malnutrition (no time to eat properly). I quit after 3 months.

Now I'm looking for another job. However I have doubts listing C in my resume due to my experience. I'm worried when on an interview for a job they see me as unreliable, and I know you're not supposed to talk bad about your previous employer, however I can't say a single good thing from my short time at C.

Do I list C? What do I tell when an interviewer asks opinions/evaluations about my job at C?

added 7 characters in body
Source Link
Guest42
  • 433
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5

Let me explain my situation. Last year i worked as contractor for IBM for one of their multiple projects. Long story short: It was pure hell. If you want more details, this is what happened: The HR company that hired me to work for IBM told me i was going to work as a Java Developer, on the first day on my job i learn that was not the case, i wasn't going to develop nor program anything.

X company bought Y company, then X company was going to get rid of most of all IT staff from Y, including programmers, developers...hell, most of the people that knew how their current system and programs work. So X company hires IBM to give support and manage the programs, databases and such.

My job was to learn how X number of programs from Y company worked to give them support and troubleshoot in case of something went wrong. And so my nightmare begins.

Long tedious hours, unpaid extra hours, incompetent bosses willing to put the blame on you whenever something went wrong (even if it was the management's fault and you had proof After all i was just a replaceable contractor so they could do whatever they wanted), lack of without sleep due to ridiculous deadlines). No licenses to the programs that we needed to work with (I almost had to crack a visual studio license just so i could work when the responsibility of the Y company programs belong 100%go to IBM 100%).

And much, much more. I even had health issued due the lack of sleep/stress/malnutrition (i had no time to eat properly due to deadlines).

It was unbearable, i just simple broke and had to quit after 3 months.

So, after all this I'm looking for another job. However i have doubts listing IBM in my resume due to my experience. I'm worried when on an interview for a job they see me as unreliable, and i know you're not supposed to talk bad about your previous employer, however i can't say a single good thing from my short time at IBM.

Let me explain my situation. Last year i worked as contractor for IBM for one of their multiple projects. Long story short: It was pure hell. If you want more details, this is what happened: The HR company that hired me to work for IBM told me i was going to work as a Java Developer, on the first day on my job i learn that was not the case, i wasn't going to develop nor program anything.

X company bought Y company, then X company was going to get rid of most of all IT staff from Y, including programmers, developers...hell, most of the people that knew how their current system and programs work. So X company hires IBM to give support and manage the programs, databases and such.

My job was to learn how X number of programs from Y company worked to give them support and troubleshoot in case of something went wrong. And so my nightmare begins.

Long tedious hours, unpaid extra hours, incompetent bosses willing to put the blame on you whenever something went wrong (even if it was the management's fault and you had proof After all i was just a replaceable contractor so they could do whatever they wanted), lack of without sleep due to ridiculous deadlines). No licenses to the programs that we needed to work with (I almost had to crack a visual studio license just so i could work when the responsibility of the programs belong 100% to IBM).

And much, much more. I even had health issued due the lack of sleep/stress/malnutrition (i had no time to eat properly due to deadlines).

It was unbearable, i just simple broke and had to quit after 3 months.

So, after all this I'm looking for another job. However i have doubts listing IBM in my resume due to my experience. I'm worried when on an interview for a job they see me as unreliable, and i know you're not supposed to talk bad about your previous employer, however i can't say a single good thing from my short time at IBM.

Let me explain my situation. Last year i worked as contractor for IBM for one of their multiple projects. Long story short: It was pure hell. If you want more details, this is what happened: The HR company that hired me to work for IBM told me i was going to work as a Java Developer, on the first day on my job i learn that was not the case, i wasn't going to develop nor program anything.

X company bought Y company, then X company was going to get rid of most of all IT staff from Y, including programmers, developers...hell, most of the people that knew how their current system and programs work. So X company hires IBM to give support and manage the programs, databases and such.

My job was to learn how X number of programs from Y company worked to give them support and troubleshoot in case of something went wrong. And so my nightmare begins.

Long tedious hours, unpaid extra hours, incompetent bosses willing to put the blame on you whenever something went wrong (even if it was the management's fault and you had proof After all i was just a replaceable contractor so they could do whatever they wanted), lack of without sleep due to ridiculous deadlines). No licenses to the programs that we needed to work with (I almost had to crack a visual studio license just so i could work when the responsibility of the Y company programs go to IBM 100%).

And much, much more. I even had health issued due the lack of sleep/stress/malnutrition (i had no time to eat properly due to deadlines).

It was unbearable, i just simple broke and had to quit after 3 months.

So, after all this I'm looking for another job. However i have doubts listing IBM in my resume due to my experience. I'm worried when on an interview for a job they see me as unreliable, and i know you're not supposed to talk bad about your previous employer, however i can't say a single good thing from my short time at IBM.

Source Link
Guest42
  • 433
  • 1
  • 4
  • 5
Loading