Skip to main content

Quitting during a probation period  -- does PTOpaid time off matter?

I am considering quitting a job during a probation period. The problem is, during this period I ended up taking a lot of paid time off (PTO) since I couldn't just not show up to work. My roommate ended up getting really, really sick  -- it eventually got so bad that I had to take time off to help her get to the hospital and get her stuff moved out of the house  -- and then I caught what she had (although not nearly as bad). This all took place in the first month of working at my job.

I did relay all this information to management as it happened though and I think in total I had a week and a half of PTO (two days of helping my roommate to the hospital and moving out, a week after getting sick). But the job is just not working out otherwise  -- I need job training and I haven't gotten it in two months, everyone seems to be lost as to what I should be doing, and when I ask questions I get sent to people who then send me to other people who send me back to the first set of people. But despite that, I still have projects to do that I'm not sure I can finish.

I have a three month probation period and this month is my third month. I want to quit, but people keep telling me that it looks bad on my resume, especially as a recent graduate, and that I can't quit after taking so much PTO.

Is the amount of PTO that I've taken going to be detrimental when I talk to my boss about quitting? Is quitting after three months going to look bad on my resume?

Quitting during a probation period-- does PTO matter?

I am considering quitting a job during a probation period. The problem is, during this period I ended up taking a lot of paid time off (PTO) since I couldn't just not show up to work. My roommate ended up getting really, really sick-- it eventually got so bad that I had to take time off to help her get to the hospital and get her stuff moved out of the house-- and then I caught what she had (although not nearly as bad). This all took place in the first month of working at my job.

I did relay all this information to management as it happened though and I think in total I had a week and a half of PTO (two days of helping my roommate to the hospital and moving out, a week after getting sick). But the job is just not working out otherwise-- I need job training and I haven't gotten it in two months, everyone seems to be lost as to what I should be doing, and when I ask questions I get sent to people who then send me to other people who send me back to the first set of people. But despite that, I still have projects to do that I'm not sure I can finish.

I have a three month probation period and this month is my third month. I want to quit, but people keep telling me that it looks bad on my resume, especially as a recent graduate, and that I can't quit after taking so much PTO.

Is the amount of PTO that I've taken going to be detrimental when I talk to my boss about quitting? Is quitting after three months going to look bad on my resume?

Quitting during a probation period  -- does paid time off matter?

I am considering quitting a job during a probation period. The problem is, during this period I ended up taking a lot of paid time off (PTO) since I couldn't just not show up to work. My roommate ended up getting really, really sick  -- it eventually got so bad that I had to take time off to help her get to the hospital and get her stuff moved out of the house  -- and then I caught what she had (although not nearly as bad). This all took place in the first month of working at my job.

I did relay all this information to management as it happened and I think in total I had a week and a half of PTO (two days of helping my roommate to the hospital and moving out, a week after getting sick). But the job is just not working out otherwise  -- I need job training and I haven't gotten it in two months, everyone seems to be lost as to what I should be doing, and when I ask questions I get sent to people who then send me to other people who send me back to the first set of people. But despite that, I still have projects to do that I'm not sure I can finish.

I have a three month probation period and this month is my third month. I want to quit, but people keep telling me that it looks bad on my resume, especially as a recent graduate, and that I can't quit after taking so much PTO.

Is the amount of PTO that I've taken going to be detrimental when I talk to my boss about quitting? Is quitting after three months going to look bad on my resume?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackWorkplace/status/463388412012421120
Source Link
Ice-9
  • 239
  • 1
  • 3
  • 8

Quitting during a probation period-- does PTO matter?

I am considering quitting a job during a probation period. The problem is, during this period I ended up taking a lot of paid time off (PTO) since I couldn't just not show up to work. My roommate ended up getting really, really sick-- it eventually got so bad that I had to take time off to help her get to the hospital and get her stuff moved out of the house-- and then I caught what she had (although not nearly as bad). This all took place in the first month of working at my job.

I did relay all this information to management as it happened though and I think in total I had a week and a half of PTO (two days of helping my roommate to the hospital and moving out, a week after getting sick). But the job is just not working out otherwise-- I need job training and I haven't gotten it in two months, everyone seems to be lost as to what I should be doing, and when I ask questions I get sent to people who then send me to other people who send me back to the first set of people. But despite that, I still have projects to do that I'm not sure I can finish.

I have a three month probation period and this month is my third month. I want to quit, but people keep telling me that it looks bad on my resume, especially as a recent graduate, and that I can't quit after taking so much PTO.

Is the amount of PTO that I've taken going to be detrimental when I talk to my boss about quitting? Is quitting after three months going to look bad on my resume?