Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
ayr
  • 133
  • 7
Source Link
ayr
  • 133
  • 7

Continue or “turn the page” and move on?

I'm trying to get into a research team that is focused on the area around which my research interests are currently focused. They have excellent experience and a wonderful facilities. In addition, they are located and work in a very picturesque place, which reminds me of my small homeland.

The most significant limitation for me now is financial, so the only possible way for me to interact with them is remote work with periodic visits.

They don’t have any open positions right now, but I decided to chat with the group leader to find out if there were any opportunities for cooperation (internship, preparing preprints, simple experiments, teaching students and leading their scientific projects, etc.) .

The response from the group leader was as follows (point by point):

  1. There are currently no vacant teaching opportunities or contacts with trainees.
  2. The content of the disciplines and areas of research of the scientific group weakly intersects with the topics of my old publications. This may become an obstacle when passing the selection process.
  3. Remote work with periodic visits is problematic. They have such experience. Regular and active participation of teachers and scientists in the activities of the group is required (classes with students and interns, research work, scientific events).

Do you think it is worth continuing the dialogue and if so, how? Or turn the page and move on? I don't have any alternative options right now.