Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

15
  • 19
    For yopur team email I would strongly emphasize that colleagues can talk to you about that in private. If Bob is a former alcoholic that needs to stay completely dry to stay safe, he probably doesn't want that to be public knowledge in the office. Might already be bad enough that you as his boss need to know about it.
    – quarague
    Commented Jun 14, 2022 at 6:53
  • 1
    I really like the suggestion to cover things other than food. I've been to mixers where I had to bring my own water bottle, because no one planned for the possibility of not drinking. Put everyone on an equal footing- it makes a difference.
    – abought
    Commented Jun 14, 2022 at 14:23
  • 4
    I wonder if asking the bar to promote a signature cocktail and a signature mocktail could reduce the pressure to drink. I'm often happier to drown several not-a-ritas if no one else can tell the difference.
    – LeLetter
    Commented Jun 14, 2022 at 16:15
  • 10
    I would add that an important way to make it comfortable is to shut down people who try and pressure others into drinking "Are you sure? Just one?" should be met by "If he doesn't want to drink, he doesn't have to" or similar. Commented Jun 14, 2022 at 16:51
  • 2
    I had a similar situation where my team was invited to dinner and drinks with the CEO and other upper mgmt. At one point, it was weekly (small company). Having appetizers for everyone was one way to reduce the pressure to drink, since everyone still had "something" in front of them. It also helped that there was a "time limit" of required presence, so I and others could avoid the later likelihood of being pressured to drink. And others speaking out against the pressure did help. I'm not a teetotaller, either, I just had better things to do with my time. Commented Jun 14, 2022 at 20:35