Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 24, 2019 at 21:49 comment added computercarguy Not only would you need to get agreement with your spouse for this, but it essentially undermines/makes useless the idea of the candy. The idea is that the parents and children aren't having to pay for everything out of pocket. I did a lot of fundraising as a kid and I did so I didn't have to pay for things out of pocket.
Sep 24, 2019 at 20:40 comment added kleineg @LouFancy Is the rule that no one can donate? Or that they cannot request donations? Those are very different animals.
Sep 24, 2019 at 20:06 comment added Lou Fancy @J... I'm trying to work this out but have not been successful. Based on a parent's complaint the school is no longer allowed to request money from students to attend a field trip. Their only method for funding field trips now is fundraisers. To their credit they are very transparent about how much money they need and how much they have. This is brand new so it's my hope that with a little coaxing they will allow a donate option. I'd very much perfer that.
Sep 24, 2019 at 16:54 comment added J... This is a terrible solution. You're just giving money to parasite candy sellers. Send that garbage back to the school and just donate the money outright. More will end up going to the school, you won't have to eat horrible chocolate, and the vampires won't make off with half of your money. If you want to give your coworkers a treat, just go buy some real chocolate and skip the fundraising candy baron tax altogether.
Sep 24, 2019 at 16:21 comment added maxathousand @LouFancy If you do go this route and attach your name to it, be mindful that this may inadvertently raise expectations for future fundraisers brought in by other coworkers. "Oh, I guess he/she isn't one of the coworkers that buys the candies upfront for the enjoyment of the team." This might not be an issue with your team, but would at least be worth considering if these fundraisers are somewhat common.
Sep 24, 2019 at 10:53 comment added T. Sar @GregoryCurrie You can keep them in the box if you say to your team "There was this fundraiser going on and then I decided to help by buying you guys candy", too.
Sep 24, 2019 at 3:06 comment added Gregory Currie Please don't keep them in the fundraiser box if you do so. People know what these things look like, and will be very confused if they are meant to pay for them or not.
Sep 23, 2019 at 17:04 comment added Lou Fancy Interesting compromise! I can follow my wife's request to "take this to work" but I won't risk alienating my team. I'm out a couple of bucks. Maybe I'll just keep it in my desk and make this a win/win/win.
Sep 23, 2019 at 16:34 history answered Literalman CC BY-SA 4.0