Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 49
    Interesting compromise! I can follow my wife's request to "take this to work" but I won't risk alienating my team. I'm out a couple of bucks. Maybe I'll just keep it in my desk and make this a win/win/win.
    – Lou Fancy
    Commented Sep 23, 2019 at 17:04
  • 14
    Please don't keep them in the fundraiser box if you do so. People know what these things look like, and will be very confused if they are meant to pay for them or not. Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 3:06
  • 14
    @GregoryCurrie You can keep them in the box if you say to your team "There was this fundraiser going on and then I decided to help by buying you guys candy", too.
    – T. Sar
    Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 10:53
  • 36
    This is a terrible solution. You're just giving money to parasite candy sellers. Send that garbage back to the school and just donate the money outright. More will end up going to the school, you won't have to eat horrible chocolate, and the vampires won't make off with half of your money. If you want to give your coworkers a treat, just go buy some real chocolate and skip the fundraising candy baron tax altogether.
    – J...
    Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 16:54
  • 6
    @J... I'm trying to work this out but have not been successful. Based on a parent's complaint the school is no longer allowed to request money from students to attend a field trip. Their only method for funding field trips now is fundraisers. To their credit they are very transparent about how much money they need and how much they have. This is brand new so it's my hope that with a little coaxing they will allow a donate option. I'd very much perfer that.
    – Lou Fancy
    Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 20:06