Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 18
    @LouFancy, I've been down that path myself, unfortunately, there's not much more I can help with that but I'll let you blame me if that will help
    – cdkMoose
    Commented Sep 23, 2019 at 18:29
  • 10
    @LouFancy: You don't "refuse" the request. You explain that it is not appropriate for your particular work environment, and that you are not in a position where you can change that. For a larger company, that could translate to "not allowed by HR". The key is to shift the blame.
    – MSalters
    Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 11:00
  • 3
    Not only harmed the relationship, but failed as a leader independently of the relationship. You have authority, don't misuse it nor through ignorance let it be misapplied, especially when you or your family stand to gain...
    – Stian
    Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 18:04
  • 12
    @cdkMoose I took this option and explained to my wife why it might seen inappropriate to do this. She was awesome like always and I feel a little silly for worrying about this.
    – Lou Fancy
    Commented Sep 24, 2019 at 20:08
  • 2
    I would put it somewhere where people can donate or not donate if they want anonymously. I've seen this in a couple of offices and it worked well.
    – user10399
    Commented Sep 25, 2019 at 10:11