Skip to main content
18 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 6, 2019 at 15:51 comment added Fattie "what they are paying is fair given my current level of experience" OP Dude programming just isn't like that. It's more like being .. a guitarist. If you're brilliant and young (buckethead!) you get paid fat money. If you're brilliant and old (Joe Walsh!) you get paid fat money. Sure, of course you need experience to make money, but, it's just highly unlike other professions. And again, setting aside money you need to make a change to keep yourself sharp.
Apr 6, 2019 at 15:42 comment added Fattie This answer is just wrong. The first "raise" wasn't a raise. The OP went from making nothing, intern money, to a real salary. they are now RIPPING OFF the OP because he is yougn. Get the hell out of there immediately. No good programmer goes for more than 6 months tops without a raise. In this market you can get a new job in 5 minutes. Go for it.
Apr 5, 2019 at 22:10 comment added Alex M "if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle." I think you (and OP) have missed the boat here. He was hired in June 2017, days after graduating. In June 2018, they brought him on full-time and dramatically improved his compensation. They do periodic increases every 12 months, in April. As of April 2019, he's not been eligible for 12 months so he's not eligible for consideration. If the compensation as of today is fair, I just don't see the point of giving this any thought at all.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:58 history edited mcknz CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1 character in body
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:49 history edited mcknz CC BY-SA 4.0
added 319 characters in body
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:39 history edited mcknz CC BY-SA 4.0
added 536 characters in body
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:31 comment added domStack17 @Phueal this is also a very good perspective I agree with
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:31 comment added domStack17 @mcknz thanks for that edit, what you said makes a lot of sense.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:27 comment added mcknz @domStack17 I added more detail that will hopefully explain more.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:26 comment added mcknz @Neuromancer I agree. Except for the fact that they've already said he's not getting one -- nothing wrong with asking, I suppose.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:25 history edited mcknz CC BY-SA 4.0
added details based on comments
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:23 comment added Phueal @domStack17 "if I leave I probably wouldn't be able to get that much more given market value" - this is the key point. They could have given you a $100k raise after 1 year, and then no more raises for 15 years, and you would still have been treated fairly. It's not the frequency of the raises that matters, but rather whether you are satisfied with your salary.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:17 comment added domStack17 Thats what im conflicted on. Its been basically 10-11 months since that increase and to expect another one I dont think is greedy. The other part of me says, what they are paying is fair given my current level of experience, and if I leave I probably wouldnt be able to get that much more given market value.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:12 comment added Neuromancer the promotion raise was a year ago asking for one now is not excessive
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:12 comment added domStack17 Good point, ill probably refrain from sharing numbers then.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:08 comment added Phueal @domStack17 Whether you can share numbers depends more on your current employer's policy and whether they know you're you! Many people's salaries are public (e.g. some public officials, some tech industry workers with maverick employers), so there is nothing inherently wrong with sharing salaries. It is often taboo because it feels like boasting, and often against company policy because it improves their negotiating position if employees don't know each others' salaries.
Apr 5, 2019 at 20:00 comment added domStack17 What I got initially wasn't a "raise", it was technically a full promotion, essentially a brand new offer. Am I allowed to throw numbers around in stack? I dont mind sharing my actual amount. Part of how I feel also is, I have almost 2 years experience, what they are paying me is more than fair for 2 years. I just feel shitty for getting skipped on this raise cycle after expecting to be on it. If I were to leave for another company, I cant see them paying someone with my experience and level much more than what I am now, maybe another 5k-10k? Unsure...
Apr 5, 2019 at 19:55 history answered mcknz CC BY-SA 4.0