Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
mcknz
  • 25.2k
  • 9
  • 85
  • 106

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

That said, in the software development industry, it's fairly common for people to move around frequently, especially early in their careers.

Another thing you have to consider is how much do you like your current job -- you might earn more elsewhere, but you run the risk of getting into a bad/toxic environment.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towardstoward asking for a meeting andto explain, nicely, that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle, and askalso asking to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

That said, in the software development industry, it's fairly common for people to move around frequently, especially early in their careers.

Another thing you have to consider is how much do you like your current job -- you might earn more elsewhere, but you run the risk of getting into a bad/toxic environment.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

That said, in the software development industry, it's fairly common for people to move around frequently, especially early in their careers.

Another thing you have to consider is how much do you like your current job -- you might earn more elsewhere, but you run the risk of getting into a bad/toxic environment.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I'm leaning toward asking for a meeting to explain, nicely, that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle, and also asking to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

added 319 characters in body
Source Link
mcknz
  • 25.2k
  • 9
  • 85
  • 106

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

That said, in the software development industry, it's fairly common for people to move around frequently, especially early in their careers.

Another thing you have to consider is how much do you like your current job -- you might earn more elsewhere, but you run the risk of getting into a bad/toxic environment.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

That said, in the software development industry, it's fairly common for people to move around frequently, especially early in their careers.

Another thing you have to consider is how much do you like your current job -- you might earn more elsewhere, but you run the risk of getting into a bad/toxic environment.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

added 536 characters in body
Source Link
mcknz
  • 25.2k
  • 9
  • 85
  • 106

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

Should I negotiate an increase after being skipped on this years raise cycle?

I would not.

Even if you are already making 200K, a 30K bump is still 15%, which is 5 times greater than a standard raise.

I totally understand the frustration you have with being left out of the raise cycle. Your raise is, as you say, essentially a new offer -- usually that's the only time you get a raise that big, when you switch jobs. Once you're in a job, your employer has less incentive to raise your pay, as you've experienced.

If you need a salary increase now, then there's no harm in looking around. The only problem with that is when you change jobs too often, employers start to wonder how long you actually plan to stay in a position.

Do you think this is fair?

That's a bit subjective, and if I was in your place I doubt I would see it as very fair, especially if they just told you about it right before/during/after the raise cycle.

I guess I would say it's not un-fair, if it's only for one year. If you haven't already you might want to confirm with your manager that you will definitely be eligible for a raise during the next cycle.

If they try to pull the same thing next year, then you definitely have a case to go to your manager and negotiate.

I think I'm leaning towards asking for a meeting and explain nicely that I didn't realize the last increase was going to come at the expense at the current raise cycle and ask to negotiate on it.

I would advise against this.

Let's say you are making 100K. It would take you 10 years of standard 3% raise cycles to get to where you are now, so I would say you got the better deal, even if you have to wait another year for an increase.

It sounds like your employer has been generous. Going back for more, when your manager has explicitly stated the reason why they aren't giving you a raise, invites unnecessary conflict. And you probably won't win.

Enjoy the raise you have, but use your next year's excellent work to make the case that you should be paid for two years' worth of increases....

added details based on comments
Source Link
mcknz
  • 25.2k
  • 9
  • 85
  • 106
Loading
Source Link
mcknz
  • 25.2k
  • 9
  • 85
  • 106
Loading