Skip to main content
Minor addition to explicitly state a preferential course of action after bad behavior.
Source Link
Izzy
  • 141
  • 4

Another option: Give them what they want.

If they're looking for serious fault, there's potential appeasement in voluntarily taking some petty blame. "I'm sorry about how this happened, I could have saved you from this if I had been firmer in standards before this happened or introduced this better." As well as "I could have made it more clear to everyone involved about how minor an issue this should have been."

You could also exercise his desire to find fault in you by requesting he reviews all your code - he'll get his fix for telling you off over some petty issues and you'll still be safe as houses. Of course, any demonstrably unfair actions your co-worker takes during a review can be used as evidence against this co-worker.

Try your best to keep them, and yourself, above board.

Another option: Give them what they want.

If they're looking for serious fault, there's potential appeasement in voluntarily taking some petty blame. "I'm sorry about how this happened, I could have saved you from this if I had been firmer in standards before this happened or introduced this better." As well as "I could have made it more clear to everyone involved about how minor an issue this should have been."

You could also exercise his desire to find fault in you by requesting he reviews all your code - he'll get his fix for telling you off over some petty issues and you'll still be safe as houses.

Try your best to keep them, and yourself, above board.

Another option: Give them what they want.

If they're looking for serious fault, there's potential appeasement in voluntarily taking some petty blame. "I'm sorry about how this happened, I could have saved you from this if I had been firmer in standards before this happened or introduced this better." As well as "I could have made it more clear to everyone involved about how minor an issue this should have been."

You could also exercise his desire to find fault in you by requesting he reviews all your code - he'll get his fix for telling you off over some petty issues and you'll still be safe as houses. Of course, any demonstrably unfair actions your co-worker takes during a review can be used as evidence against this co-worker.

Try your best to keep them, and yourself, above board.

Source Link
Izzy
  • 141
  • 4

Another option: Give them what they want.

If they're looking for serious fault, there's potential appeasement in voluntarily taking some petty blame. "I'm sorry about how this happened, I could have saved you from this if I had been firmer in standards before this happened or introduced this better." As well as "I could have made it more clear to everyone involved about how minor an issue this should have been."

You could also exercise his desire to find fault in you by requesting he reviews all your code - he'll get his fix for telling you off over some petty issues and you'll still be safe as houses.

Try your best to keep them, and yourself, above board.