Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 11
    Yeah, an apology goes a long way sometimes
    – Kilisi
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 11:19
  • 9
    Maybe this belongs in Interpersonal Skills. I have had occasion to apologise when I felt I had not done wrong, but it was the right thing to do. I sat and looked at the telephone, said three times "I am not my father * ", and just did it.
    – RedSonja
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 11:48
  • 1
    * insert any macho idiot you know who would rather die than apologise.
    – RedSonja
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 11:48
  • 5
    @RedSonja There are two kinds of apologies. There's the one that says "it's all my fault, not your's". And there's the other one that says "I can see your grievance and I empathize with it". Often, the latter kind is all that's needed to mend a broken relationship, although it doesn't entail bargaining about who's guilty or not. It's not a fauxpology, however, because it actually acknowledges the grievance. Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 17:29
  • 1
    @RedSonja Of course, that presumes the person asking the question isn't a macho idiot. They've already demonstrated they see no wrong in throwing this other person under a well-aimed bus. You. Just. Don't. Do. That.
    – Rich
    Commented Dec 21, 2018 at 0:22