Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackWorkplace/status/1076809795708076033
super-light copyedit to add a bit of clarity, initially spawned by the title's completely commonplace but formally incorrect use of "me" where "I" is called for.
Source Link

I suspect my coworker is trying to take revenge. How do me and my career and I survive an extra few weeks of working together?

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone else, notnor to teaching/explaining code, notnor to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier butand just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up (we had a row about adding dead code to the code base and some scope creep, both of which I was refusing to do), leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something that version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know this,about this; they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or of my career?

I suspect my coworker is trying to take revenge. How do me and my career survive an extra few weeks of working together?

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone, not to teaching/explaining code, not to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier but just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up (we had a row about adding dead code to the code base and some scope creep, both of which I was refusing to do), leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know this, they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or my career?

I suspect my coworker is trying to take revenge. How do my career and I survive an extra few weeks of working together?

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone else, nor to teaching/explaining code, nor to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier and just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up (we had a row about adding dead code to the code base and some scope creep, both of which I was refusing to do), leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something that version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know about this; they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or of my career?

added in the particulars for the argument, it seems to be important.
Source Link
Tinkeringbell
  • 1k
  • 1
  • 12
  • 22

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone, not to teaching/explaining code, not to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier but just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up (we had a row about adding dead code to the code base and some scope creep, both of which I was refusing to do), leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know this, they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or my career?

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone, not to teaching/explaining code, not to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier but just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up, leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know this, they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or my career?

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone, not to teaching/explaining code, not to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier but just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up (we had a row about adding dead code to the code base and some scope creep, both of which I was refusing to do), leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know this, they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or my career?

Source Link
Tinkeringbell
  • 1k
  • 1
  • 12
  • 22

I suspect my coworker is trying to take revenge. How do me and my career survive an extra few weeks of working together?

A few months ago, I was temporarily (until the end of this year) put on another team. There is one other developer, and we've been struggling in our day-to-day interactions from day one. He's not used to working with someone, not to teaching/explaining code, not to peer-reviews or working with git and merge requests. The entire team is just transitioning to working Agile/SCRUM, and he seems reluctant to make that change.

We both seem to be struggling with a generation gap. At the same time, I probably have been wrong by not addressing this earlier but just deciding to suck it up for a few months, leading to a bigger blow-out than immediately addressing every small thing would have done.

A few weeks ago, despite my best intentions to just sit this one out, I blew stuff up, leading to him and his work being scrutinized by other developers and managers.

I've spent quite some time that week having talks with him, the scrum master, other senior developers, managers and product owners. Overall, I came out relatively unscathed, and I don't think this has damaged my career in any way, nor do I feel threatened it may at any later point.

But I've burned some serious bridges with this co-worker it seems. I get the impression he's trying really hard to find some fault in me, some flaw that he can use to 'even out' what happened between us. Something he can use to create a situation like I did that week, but in reverse, with me being the one being scrutinized by managers and other developers. The last straw for me was when he accused me of doing something version control shows I had no hand in. I've already again contacted my manager and let them know this, they advised me to keep track of incidents closely and make sure everything I do goes through the issue tracker and version control.

This week, I learned that plans have changed a little, and I'm stuck with this co-worker for another month. This means I have a few more weeks of working together with this co-worker to go through, and I'd really like not to have to work in a way that creates alibis everywhere. I'd like to be able to work without having to look over my shoulder every moment, without him giving me the impression he's seeking revenge.

How do I best manage those last few weeks of working together with this co-worker, so that there will be no negative influence on the impression people have of me or my career?