Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 4
    @JustinCave in a way, I was not disappointed. In another, I'm still mad at myself for breaking my resolution of 'just sit it out, don't meddle in it, it's not really your problem'. I've added the details of what our argument was about, hopefully that'll clarify the situation a bit. Commented Dec 18, 2018 at 19:32
  • 3
    @JoeStrazzere Yes... I did try to make clear this was solely about the work, not him as a person, and expressed my regret at the way things went (I have not apologized for the outcome though). I don't really see how I can apologize for something managers and other senior developers seem to find good coding practices, but if you know one and think that may likely solve the situation, that's likely to be an answer? I'm personally not sorry for refusing to add dead code or have yet another scope creep delay the delivery of functionality. Commented Dec 18, 2018 at 19:36
  • @Tinkeringbell You're asking about the impression of other people, but you haven't mentioned WHO sees these actions. If the only ones seeing these accusations are you, him and your manager, then yes, the below answers of being perfect should be fine. I think the answer changes a lot if he's doing the accusations in front of coworkers, or complaining about you behind your back, which none of the answers address.
    – Mars
    Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 2:19
  • @Mars Until now, it's been the manager, me and him, yes. One of the things that I'd like is keeping it that way. Commented Dec 19, 2018 at 17:53