Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • OK im using Members plugin now to get a jist of how member permissions work. I have set 'map_meta_cap' => true and 'capability_type' => 'shopowner' on my custom post type. I have created a new role called ShopOwner and given it the capabilities of read, edit_shopowner, delete_shopowner. Set a user to the role of ShopOwner and logged in with that user. That user cannot see the custom post type. Have I missed something?
    – Scott
    Commented Apr 12, 2011 at 16:33
  • 2
    change those to edit_shopowners and delete_shopowners. edit_shopowner and delete_shopowner are meta capabilities that are never actually checked against. They're checked when somebody tries to edit or delete a specific item, and end up checking things like "Can this user delete these types of items? Can they only delete their own or others too? can they delete published items?" etc. Commented Apr 12, 2011 at 16:43
  • I couldnt make any sense of that... but I got the functionality I'm after by setting capabilities in my custom post type and creating those capabilities in members plugin. I've awarded you the answers as your post was the most useful for me to piece a solution together. Thanks
    – Scott
    Commented Apr 12, 2011 at 17:03