Skip to main content
replaced http://wordpress.stackexchange.com/ with https://wordpress.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Let's move on

We already had one meta question by Tom J. Nowell asking how we should deal with the questions. It had quite some traction and support.

Now I'm polling if we should update our FAQ and make those questions off topic.


Reasons why to make questions off topic

  1. Tom already cited Adii, the owner of Woo, in his question:

The stance of Woo itself is rather hostile to this situation, here's the founders stance:

"So I say, fuck it! I’ve personally stopped helping these users on technical issues (pre-sales questions are fair game obviously) and have also instructed my Support Team to be more ruthless in this regard." - Adii

  1. We currently got ~200 questions tagged with that topic. There's ~30% solved. And solved for WooCommerce questions means answer like the following are the ..."solution".

"I hate to mention this on Wordpress.Stackexchange, but I would go with using Magento in place of Wordpress."

"OK, I think I have found an answer to my own question. It appears that the broken admin pages with too many items were a result of my hosting provider (Dreamhost) having "extra web security" checked in the setup of the site."

"I can confirm this was fixed in WC 1.5.2 :)"

etc.

  1. Most users in there are drive-by users. They come, ask a question and are gone. Providing help to others is not common under the users active in these tags. At all the only valuable answers I could find were provided by @brasofilo herehere and herehere and by @BAinternet.
  2. The question/solution ratio is becoming lower and lowerand lower. Just go back in time and look for yourself.
  3. The quality is at a very low level.
  4. And last, but not least, we will never know if some problem is a bug and will stay there, so we would need to monitor all changes inside their products. As far as I can remember the site is called WordPress.StackExchange and not WooCommerce.StackExchange. We're already closing other plugin specific questions as too localized.

Conclusion

For me it's quite clear: Let's go and make it off topic. We don't have enough experts, the users can't and won't help themselves and the responsible company gives a fuck, says that loud and publicly and I don't see a reason why we should put something in our sites way that keeps the "solved questions" ratio low.

What's your opinion? +1 the question if you think we should update our [faq] and dismiss questions as we already did it once.

Let's move on

We already had one meta question by Tom J. Nowell asking how we should deal with the questions. It had quite some traction and support.

Now I'm polling if we should update our FAQ and make those questions off topic.


Reasons why to make questions off topic

  1. Tom already cited Adii, the owner of Woo, in his question:

The stance of Woo itself is rather hostile to this situation, here's the founders stance:

"So I say, fuck it! I’ve personally stopped helping these users on technical issues (pre-sales questions are fair game obviously) and have also instructed my Support Team to be more ruthless in this regard." - Adii

  1. We currently got ~200 questions tagged with that topic. There's ~30% solved. And solved for WooCommerce questions means answer like the following are the ..."solution".

"I hate to mention this on Wordpress.Stackexchange, but I would go with using Magento in place of Wordpress."

"OK, I think I have found an answer to my own question. It appears that the broken admin pages with too many items were a result of my hosting provider (Dreamhost) having "extra web security" checked in the setup of the site."

"I can confirm this was fixed in WC 1.5.2 :)"

etc.

  1. Most users in there are drive-by users. They come, ask a question and are gone. Providing help to others is not common under the users active in these tags. At all the only valuable answers I could find were provided by @brasofilo here and here and by @BAinternet.
  2. The question/solution ratio is becoming lower and lower. Just go back in time and look for yourself.
  3. The quality is at a very low level.
  4. And last, but not least, we will never know if some problem is a bug and will stay there, so we would need to monitor all changes inside their products. As far as I can remember the site is called WordPress.StackExchange and not WooCommerce.StackExchange. We're already closing other plugin specific questions as too localized.

Conclusion

For me it's quite clear: Let's go and make it off topic. We don't have enough experts, the users can't and won't help themselves and the responsible company gives a fuck, says that loud and publicly and I don't see a reason why we should put something in our sites way that keeps the "solved questions" ratio low.

What's your opinion? +1 the question if you think we should update our [faq] and dismiss questions as we already did it once.

Let's move on

We already had one meta question by Tom J. Nowell asking how we should deal with the questions. It had quite some traction and support.

Now I'm polling if we should update our FAQ and make those questions off topic.


Reasons why to make questions off topic

  1. Tom already cited Adii, the owner of Woo, in his question:

The stance of Woo itself is rather hostile to this situation, here's the founders stance:

"So I say, fuck it! I’ve personally stopped helping these users on technical issues (pre-sales questions are fair game obviously) and have also instructed my Support Team to be more ruthless in this regard." - Adii

  1. We currently got ~200 questions tagged with that topic. There's ~30% solved. And solved for WooCommerce questions means answer like the following are the ..."solution".

"I hate to mention this on Wordpress.Stackexchange, but I would go with using Magento in place of Wordpress."

"OK, I think I have found an answer to my own question. It appears that the broken admin pages with too many items were a result of my hosting provider (Dreamhost) having "extra web security" checked in the setup of the site."

"I can confirm this was fixed in WC 1.5.2 :)"

etc.

  1. Most users in there are drive-by users. They come, ask a question and are gone. Providing help to others is not common under the users active in these tags. At all the only valuable answers I could find were provided by @brasofilo here and here and by @BAinternet.
  2. The question/solution ratio is becoming lower and lower. Just go back in time and look for yourself.
  3. The quality is at a very low level.
  4. And last, but not least, we will never know if some problem is a bug and will stay there, so we would need to monitor all changes inside their products. As far as I can remember the site is called WordPress.StackExchange and not WooCommerce.StackExchange. We're already closing other plugin specific questions as too localized.

Conclusion

For me it's quite clear: Let's go and make it off topic. We don't have enough experts, the users can't and won't help themselves and the responsible company gives a fuck, says that loud and publicly and I don't see a reason why we should put something in our sites way that keeps the "solved questions" ratio low.

What's your opinion? +1 the question if you think we should update our [faq] and dismiss questions as we already did it once.

replaced http://meta.wordpress.stackexchange.com/ with https://wordpress.meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Let's move on

We already had one meta questionmeta question by Tom J. Nowell asking how we should deal with the questions. It had quite some traction and support.

Now I'm polling if we should update our FAQ and make those questions off topic.


Reasons why to make questions off topic

  1. Tom already cited Adii, the owner of Woo, in his question:

The stance of Woo itself is rather hostile to this situation, here's the founders stance:

"So I say, fuck it! I’ve personally stopped helping these users on technical issues (pre-sales questions are fair game obviously) and have also instructed my Support Team to be more ruthless in this regard." - Adii

  1. We currently got ~200 questions tagged with that topic. There's ~30% solved. And solved for WooCommerce questions means answer like the following are the ..."solution".

"I hate to mention this on Wordpress.Stackexchange, but I would go with using Magento in place of Wordpress."

"OK, I think I have found an answer to my own question. It appears that the broken admin pages with too many items were a result of my hosting provider (Dreamhost) having "extra web security" checked in the setup of the site."

"I can confirm this was fixed in WC 1.5.2 :)"

etc.

  1. Most users in there are drive-by users. They come, ask a question and are gone. Providing help to others is not common under the users active in these tags. At all the only valuable answers I could find were provided by @brasofilo here and here and by @BAinternet.
  2. The question/solution ratio is becoming lower and lower. Just go back in time and look for yourself.
  3. The quality is at a very low level.
  4. And last, but not least, we will never know if some problem is a bug and will stay there, so we would need to monitor all changes inside their products. As far as I can remember the site is called WordPress.StackExchange and not WooCommerce.StackExchange. We're already closing other plugin specific questions as too localized.

Conclusion

For me it's quite clear: Let's go and make it off topic. We don't have enough experts, the users can't and won't help themselves and the responsible company gives a fuck, says that loud and publicly and I don't see a reason why we should put something in our sites way that keeps the "solved questions" ratio low.

What's your opinion? +1 the question if you think we should update our [faq] and dismiss questions as we already did it oncealready did it once.

Let's move on

We already had one meta question by Tom J. Nowell asking how we should deal with the questions. It had quite some traction and support.

Now I'm polling if we should update our FAQ and make those questions off topic.


Reasons why to make questions off topic

  1. Tom already cited Adii, the owner of Woo, in his question:

The stance of Woo itself is rather hostile to this situation, here's the founders stance:

"So I say, fuck it! I’ve personally stopped helping these users on technical issues (pre-sales questions are fair game obviously) and have also instructed my Support Team to be more ruthless in this regard." - Adii

  1. We currently got ~200 questions tagged with that topic. There's ~30% solved. And solved for WooCommerce questions means answer like the following are the ..."solution".

"I hate to mention this on Wordpress.Stackexchange, but I would go with using Magento in place of Wordpress."

"OK, I think I have found an answer to my own question. It appears that the broken admin pages with too many items were a result of my hosting provider (Dreamhost) having "extra web security" checked in the setup of the site."

"I can confirm this was fixed in WC 1.5.2 :)"

etc.

  1. Most users in there are drive-by users. They come, ask a question and are gone. Providing help to others is not common under the users active in these tags. At all the only valuable answers I could find were provided by @brasofilo here and here and by @BAinternet.
  2. The question/solution ratio is becoming lower and lower. Just go back in time and look for yourself.
  3. The quality is at a very low level.
  4. And last, but not least, we will never know if some problem is a bug and will stay there, so we would need to monitor all changes inside their products. As far as I can remember the site is called WordPress.StackExchange and not WooCommerce.StackExchange. We're already closing other plugin specific questions as too localized.

Conclusion

For me it's quite clear: Let's go and make it off topic. We don't have enough experts, the users can't and won't help themselves and the responsible company gives a fuck, says that loud and publicly and I don't see a reason why we should put something in our sites way that keeps the "solved questions" ratio low.

What's your opinion? +1 the question if you think we should update our [faq] and dismiss questions as we already did it once.

Let's move on

We already had one meta question by Tom J. Nowell asking how we should deal with the questions. It had quite some traction and support.

Now I'm polling if we should update our FAQ and make those questions off topic.


Reasons why to make questions off topic

  1. Tom already cited Adii, the owner of Woo, in his question:

The stance of Woo itself is rather hostile to this situation, here's the founders stance:

"So I say, fuck it! I’ve personally stopped helping these users on technical issues (pre-sales questions are fair game obviously) and have also instructed my Support Team to be more ruthless in this regard." - Adii

  1. We currently got ~200 questions tagged with that topic. There's ~30% solved. And solved for WooCommerce questions means answer like the following are the ..."solution".

"I hate to mention this on Wordpress.Stackexchange, but I would go with using Magento in place of Wordpress."

"OK, I think I have found an answer to my own question. It appears that the broken admin pages with too many items were a result of my hosting provider (Dreamhost) having "extra web security" checked in the setup of the site."

"I can confirm this was fixed in WC 1.5.2 :)"

etc.

  1. Most users in there are drive-by users. They come, ask a question and are gone. Providing help to others is not common under the users active in these tags. At all the only valuable answers I could find were provided by @brasofilo here and here and by @BAinternet.
  2. The question/solution ratio is becoming lower and lower. Just go back in time and look for yourself.
  3. The quality is at a very low level.
  4. And last, but not least, we will never know if some problem is a bug and will stay there, so we would need to monitor all changes inside their products. As far as I can remember the site is called WordPress.StackExchange and not WooCommerce.StackExchange. We're already closing other plugin specific questions as too localized.

Conclusion

For me it's quite clear: Let's go and make it off topic. We don't have enough experts, the users can't and won't help themselves and the responsible company gives a fuck, says that loud and publicly and I don't see a reason why we should put something in our sites way that keeps the "solved questions" ratio low.

What's your opinion? +1 the question if you think we should update our [faq] and dismiss questions as we already did it once.

edited tags
Link
Rarst
  • 99.7k
  • 2
  • 36
  • 73
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackWordPress/status/316230476887101441
deleted 57 characters in body
Source Link
kaiser
  • 50.7k
  • 21
  • 36
Loading
Source Link
kaiser
  • 50.7k
  • 21
  • 36
Loading