Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 4
    I tried those clicks and it rankled. I think it's because web browsing is private; I expect to be able to sit quietly with others, all of us using laptops / phones / whatever, without disturbing each other. The first sound out of a tab says "I'm going to blurt something inappropriate to your friends." Not so with other activities like games, though. Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 19:30
  • My answer doesn't say it should be avoided all together. Just that a feedback should be "improving user experience" which I think your link is all about. I can live with those click sounds on a web page, and provided that I have an option to "silence" the web page all together in a simple click. Much like Candy Crush on iOS. +1 Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 19:50
  • 4
    Sounds attached to individual controls just remind me of the "busy box"-style of developmental toys geared towards toddlers. I honestly don't need a beep/chirp/click/chime to inform me that my input has been recognized, and if I do then the site is too slow or is otherwise deficient. The only time I can see sound being useful is for alerts for exceptional conditions (e.g., a tone when tabbing out of a required field I didn't fill in).
    – TMN
    Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 19:53
  • 5
    I don't think the "option to silence" is enough. We all get too many interruptions from sites and applications that think they are important. They aren't important unless we tell them they are important. A web site should ask us if we consider it important enough to annoy our colleagues before it does so.
    – A Smith
    Commented Dec 22, 2015 at 15:47
  • 3
    My macbook button clicks when I click on it. I suspect that your mouse does, too. And if, like mine, there is a delay between when your mouse clicks and the click plays then it's really just annoying. So it's not really providing immediate feedback - and the sound doesn't really provide any information that we didn't already get from the visual nature. Commented Dec 23, 2015 at 21:06