Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

15
  • 16
    no evidence one way or another but I'd guess there isn't sound on websites because there isn't sound on websites. The medium is firmly established as a soundless one which leads people to use it in locations where they need to be quiet or to have an alternative sound source running whilst they surf (tv, music, etc...) Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 8:21
  • 175
    I can't think of anything more annoying than sound for websites, plus in a lot of environments like the office, I do not even have sound available.
    – PlasmaHH
    Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 14:02
  • 38
    For the record, "Options - Notifications - Disable all sounds" is the first thing I do after installing Skype on a new computer. Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 14:34
  • 10
    When I'm playing a game, is about the only time sound is acceptable, and even then I should be able to turn off the sound and music independently, and both ASAP.
    – aslum
    Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 15:37
  • 29
    Might mention that I absolutely hate the Skype sign-in/sign-out sound, but maybe that's just me...
    – AStopher
    Commented Dec 21, 2015 at 20:18