Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
deleted 4 characters in body
Source Link
Vector
  • 147
  • 4

People, particularly long-time users of legacy systems, are averse to change - period.

If your paycheck depends on keeping your users happy, you did the right thing.

If your paycheck depends on bringing innovative solutions to your users and educating them to accept them, you did the wrong thing.

Did your manager/supervisor have any input regarding your decision? In many cases, such as my current job, it's their call.

I have users (many of them in important management positions) that have been using the same system for mission critical work for a decade or more. I am constantly challenged to keep my innovations "cloaked" such that the users don't really know much about them!

The first question my manager (who knows our user base very well) thinks about is "How will the veteran user baseusers take to this change?". If the answer is "they won't like it at all", then my assignment is to come up with a design that incorporates my innovations in a way that the users will accept without complainingcomplaints.

People, particularly long-time users of legacy systems, are averse to change - period.

If your paycheck depends on keeping your users happy, you did the right thing.

If your paycheck depends on bringing innovative solutions to your users and educating them to accept them, you did the wrong thing.

Did your manager/supervisor have any input regarding your decision? In many cases, such as my current job, it's their call.

I have users (many of them in important management positions) that have been using the same system for mission critical work for a decade or more. I am constantly challenged to keep my innovations "cloaked" such that the users don't really know much about them!

The first question my manager (who knows our user base very well) thinks about is "How will the veteran user base take to this change?". If the answer is "they won't like it at all", then my assignment is to come up with a design that incorporates my innovations that the users will accept without complaining.

People, particularly long-time users of legacy systems, are averse to change - period.

If your paycheck depends on keeping your users happy, you did the right thing.

If your paycheck depends on bringing innovative solutions to your users and educating them to accept them, you did the wrong thing.

Did your manager/supervisor have any input regarding your decision? In many cases, such as my current job, it's their call.

I have users (many of them in important management positions) that have been using the same system for mission critical work for a decade or more. I am constantly challenged to keep my innovations "cloaked" such that the users don't really know much about them!

The first question my manager (who knows our user base very well) thinks about is "How will the veteran users take to this change?". If the answer is "they won't like it at all", then my assignment is to come up with a design that incorporates my innovations in a way that the users will accept without complaints.

Source Link
Vector
  • 147
  • 4

People, particularly long-time users of legacy systems, are averse to change - period.

If your paycheck depends on keeping your users happy, you did the right thing.

If your paycheck depends on bringing innovative solutions to your users and educating them to accept them, you did the wrong thing.

Did your manager/supervisor have any input regarding your decision? In many cases, such as my current job, it's their call.

I have users (many of them in important management positions) that have been using the same system for mission critical work for a decade or more. I am constantly challenged to keep my innovations "cloaked" such that the users don't really know much about them!

The first question my manager (who knows our user base very well) thinks about is "How will the veteran user base take to this change?". If the answer is "they won't like it at all", then my assignment is to come up with a design that incorporates my innovations that the users will accept without complaining.