Skip to main content
added 15 characters in body
Source Link
AntonioK
  • 1.2k
  • 2
  • 16
  • 28

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run a terminal emulator from it, I can see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that are exported in it are unset). But if I log in from a text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from the terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should be sourced when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in the terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing everything in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/is not good idea): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run a terminal emulator from it, I can see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that are exported in it are unset). But if I log in from a text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from the terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should be sourced when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in the terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing everything in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run a terminal emulator from it, I can see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that are exported in it are unset). But if I log in from a text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from the terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should be sourced when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in the terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing everything in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea: environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run a terminal emulator from it, I couldcan see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that are exported in it isare unset). But if I loginlog in from a text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from the terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should sourcebe sourced when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in the terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing alleverything in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run terminal emulator from it, I could see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that export in it is unset). But if I login from text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should source when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing all in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run a terminal emulator from it, I can see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that are exported in it are unset). But if I log in from a text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from the terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should be sourced when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in the terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing everything in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

replaced http://stackoverflow.com/ with https://stackoverflow.com/
Source Link

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run terminal emulator from it, I could see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that export in it is unset). But if I login from text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should source when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing all in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run terminal emulator from it, I could see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that export in it is unset). But if I login from text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should source when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing all in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

I'm using Linux Mint. My login shell (cat /etc/passwd | grep myUserName) is bash.

After I start my graphical desktop environment and run terminal emulator from it, I could see that .bash_profile is not sourced (environment vars that export in it is unset). But if I login from text console (ctrl+alt+F1) or manually run bash -l from terminal emulator, .bash_profile works fine.

Am I wrong when I think that .bash_profile should source when X starts and all export'ed vars should be available in terminal, running from X?

P.S. Placing all in .bashrc and sourcing it from .bash_profile is not good idea (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/902946/): environment stuff should be sourced only once.

edited tags
Link
Gilles 'SO- stop being evil'
  • 838.7k
  • 198
  • 1.8k
  • 2.2k
Loading
Source Link
AntonioK
  • 1.2k
  • 2
  • 16
  • 28
Loading