Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Hi Nathan C. Thanks for your response. Where am I doing this; in the host environment or the container?
    – user108168
    Commented Jul 6, 2013 at 16:34
  • The host assuming the kernel drivers are installed there (which they should since LXC relies on the host kernel).
    – Nathan C
    Commented Jul 6, 2013 at 16:35
  • Hi Nathan C Thanks for the clarification. The device /dev/vboxdrv is owned by root and I'm starting the container as root. I was running virtualbox as another user within the container but tried running it as root. I also chmoded the device to set the group to vboxusers and the permissions to 660. I'm still getting the error. Everything works fine on the host for both root and non-root users. Do I not have to put a setting in the lxc config file to grant permissions to the container?? That's what I assumed but don't know what they are. Thanks for your help.
    – user108168
    Commented Jul 6, 2013 at 17:32