Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 3 at 16:47 comment added Tom Yan @Tim Why not try transfer picture anyway? There's a chance that the item is used for MTP (whereas PTP may not even be available anymore). Either way, personally I have been relying on the network approach as well, namely starting an ssh server on Termux, which allows me to use scp, sshfs or even rsync. (sshfs for Windows is available on github, whereas scp and rsync is at least available in msys2. You can probably use some native SFTP clients as well.) And indeed even MTP could be exposing only media files (images, video and audio files).
Jul 3 at 13:45 comment added Tim "transfer files" doesn't allow me to mount the device. see my update.
Jul 3 at 11:31 comment added Hermann The "Transfer Files" should enable MTP. "USB Mass Storage Mode" was deprecated years ago, see android.stackexchange.com/questions/190138/…, though the phone may offer you a read-only device to install the HiSuite from. I did not find an authoritative source, but similar discussions like bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=275617 indicate that HarmonyOS does indeed offer MTP. "Transfer Pictures" is the older PTP protocol. You do not want that.
Jul 3 at 10:02 comment added Tim I want to transfer files not just pictures, but also any other file formats, such as pdf. So I chose "transfer files" instead of "transfer photos". Does "transfer photos" only allow transfer pictures?
Jul 3 at 9:57 comment added Tim Thanks. The output of my lsusb -v doesn't have "mtp", see my update. When I plug the phone to the laptop using USB connection, there are options to choose: transfer photos, transfer files, charge only, reverse charge, and input MIDI. I chose transfer files. Does that configure the phone to offer MTP? If not, how shall I configure it to offer MTP?
Jul 3 at 9:44 history edited Hermann CC BY-SA 4.0
adjusted statement in regard to mass storage
Jul 3 at 9:39 history edited Hermann CC BY-SA 4.0
added 73 characters in body
Jul 3 at 9:30 comment added Tom Yan Well, his lshw output literally shows a mass storage device (that is bound by the usb-storage driver) with vendor: HUAWEI, although it's probably true that, if what he wants to access is the emulated SD card, mtp is the only way.
Jul 3 at 9:26 history answered Hermann CC BY-SA 4.0