Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Well, his lshw output literally shows a mass storage device (that is bound by the usb-storage driver) with vendor: HUAWEI, although it's probably true that, if what he wants to access is the emulated SD card, mtp is the only way.
    – Tom Yan
    Commented Jul 3 at 9:30
  • Thanks. The output of my lsusb -v doesn't have "mtp", see my update. When I plug the phone to the laptop using USB connection, there are options to choose: transfer photos, transfer files, charge only, reverse charge, and input MIDI. I chose transfer files. Does that configure the phone to offer MTP? If not, how shall I configure it to offer MTP?
    – Tim
    Commented Jul 3 at 9:57
  • I want to transfer files not just pictures, but also any other file formats, such as pdf. So I chose "transfer files" instead of "transfer photos". Does "transfer photos" only allow transfer pictures?
    – Tim
    Commented Jul 3 at 10:02
  • 2
    The "Transfer Files" should enable MTP. "USB Mass Storage Mode" was deprecated years ago, see android.stackexchange.com/questions/190138/…, though the phone may offer you a read-only device to install the HiSuite from. I did not find an authoritative source, but similar discussions like bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=275617 indicate that HarmonyOS does indeed offer MTP. "Transfer Pictures" is the older PTP protocol. You do not want that.
    – Hermann
    Commented Jul 3 at 11:31
  • "transfer files" doesn't allow me to mount the device. see my update.
    – Tim
    Commented Jul 3 at 13:45