Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Fixed capitalization; tweaked punctuation; added tag.
Source Link

I'm doing a linuxLinux driver tutorial, and I have I have encountered a problem with with the sample lesson of passing parameters to the driver. I tried  I tried another parameter passing-passing example I found on the internet with with the same result. Happens  Happens on Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi.

For some reason when, when I insmod the driver with a text parameter for nameETX, dmesg dmesg shows that the kernel is thinking some some of the text string is 'unknown'an 'unknown parameter'. It does  It��does, however, accept the 'The'The part of the text string. Any  Any help please?

Source code:

char    *nameETX;
module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);

Command line:

sudo insmod hello_world.ko nameETX="The latest driver"

dmesg output:

[  968.395399] hello_world: unknown parameter 'latest' ignored
[  968.395425] hello_world: unknown parameter 'driver' ignored

I'm doing a linux driver tutorial and I have encountered a problem with the sample lesson of passing parameters to the driver. I tried another parameter passing example I found on the internet with the same result. Happens on Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi.

For some reason when I insmod the driver with a text parameter for nameETX, dmesg shows that the kernel is thinking some of the text string is 'unknown'. It does however accept the 'The' part of the text string. Any help please?

Source code:

char    *nameETX;
module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);

Command line:

sudo insmod hello_world.ko nameETX="The latest driver"

dmesg output:

[  968.395399] hello_world: unknown parameter 'latest' ignored
[  968.395425] hello_world: unknown parameter 'driver' ignored

I'm doing a Linux driver tutorial, and I have encountered a problem with the sample lesson of passing parameters to the driver.  I tried another parameter-passing example I found on the internet with the same result.  Happens on Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi.

For some reason, when I insmod the driver with a text parameter for nameETX, dmesg shows that the kernel is thinking some of the text string is an 'unknown parameter'.  It does, however, accept the The part of the text string.  Any help please?

Source code:

char    *nameETX;
module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);

Command line:

sudo insmod hello_world.ko nameETX="The latest driver"

dmesg output:

[  968.395399] hello_world: unknown parameter 'latest' ignored
[  968.395425] hello_world: unknown parameter 'driver' ignored
edited tags
Link
Kusalananda
  • 339.2k
  • 37
  • 684
  • 992

I'm doing a linux driver tutorial and I have encountered a problem with the sample lesson of passing parameters to the driver. I tried another parameter passing example I found on the internet with the same result. Happens on Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi.

For some reason when I insmod the driver with a text parameter for nameETX, dmesg shows that the kernel is thinking some of the text string is 'unknown'. It does however accept the 'The' part of the text string. Any help please?

Source code:

  char    *nameETX;
  module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);
char    *nameETX;
module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);

Command line:

   sudo insmod hello_world.ko nameETX="The latest driver"

dmesg output:

   [  968.395399] hello_world: unknown parameter 'latest' ignored
   [  968.395425] hello_world: unknown parameter 'driver' ignored

I'm doing a linux driver tutorial and I have encountered a problem with the sample lesson of passing parameters to the driver. I tried another parameter passing example I found on the internet with the same result. Happens on Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi.

For some reason when I insmod the driver with a text parameter for nameETX, dmesg shows that the kernel is thinking some of the text string is 'unknown'. It does however accept the 'The' part of the text string. Any help please?

Source code:

  char    *nameETX;
  module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);

Command line:

   sudo insmod hello_world.ko nameETX="The latest driver"

dmesg output:

   [  968.395399] hello_world: unknown parameter 'latest' ignored
   [  968.395425] hello_world: unknown parameter 'driver' ignored

I'm doing a linux driver tutorial and I have encountered a problem with the sample lesson of passing parameters to the driver. I tried another parameter passing example I found on the internet with the same result. Happens on Ubuntu and Raspberry Pi.

For some reason when I insmod the driver with a text parameter for nameETX, dmesg shows that the kernel is thinking some of the text string is 'unknown'. It does however accept the 'The' part of the text string. Any help please?

Source code:

char    *nameETX;
module_param(nameETX, charp, S_IRUSR | S_IWUSR);

Command line:

sudo insmod hello_world.ko nameETX="The latest driver"

dmesg output:

[  968.395399] hello_world: unknown parameter 'latest' ignored
[  968.395425] hello_world: unknown parameter 'driver' ignored
added 26 characters in body
Source Link
Marcus Müller
  • 32.9k
  • 3
  • 53
  • 77
Loading
added 36 characters in body
Source Link
carlh
  • 21
  • 3
Loading
Source Link
carlh
  • 21
  • 3
Loading