Skip to main content
Notice removed Authoritative reference needed by Martin Vegter
Bounty Ended with dirkt's answer chosen by Martin Vegter
Notice added Authoritative reference needed by Martin Vegter
Bounty Started worth 250 reputation by Martin Vegter
deleted 11 characters in body
Source Link
Martin Vegter
  • 558
  • 76
  • 242
  • 422

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?

UPDATE:

as I explained in the comments, this happens for example when copying from chromium and pasting into firefox. Using Ctrl+Shift+v does seem to work, and pastes text without formatting. However, it is another extra step i need to remember. I have Ctrl+v ingrained in my muscle memory. is it possible to re-define the key shortcut, so that Ctrl+v acts as if i used Ctrl+Shift+v ?

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?

UPDATE:

as I explained in the comments, this happens for example when copying from chromium and pasting into firefox. Using Ctrl+Shift+v does seem to work, and pastes text without formatting. However, it is another extra step i need to remember. I have Ctrl+v ingrained in my muscle memory. is it possible to re-define the key shortcut, so that Ctrl+v acts as if i used Ctrl+Shift+v ?

deleted 11 characters in body
Source Link
Martin Vegter
  • 558
  • 76
  • 242
  • 422

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same sadistical people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same sadistical people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?

Source Link
Martin Vegter
  • 558
  • 76
  • 242
  • 422

disable formatting when using cut and paste

I am using openbox as my window manager. When I copy and paste using Ctrl+c and Ctrl+v from one application into another, it transfers the text formatting together with the text.

I have to use plaintext editor in between, so that the formatting is lost.

This is pure evil. I assume this was invented by the same sadistical people who gave us CapsLock and NumLock, just to drive people crazy and waste millions of man-hours yearly.

Anyway, how can I disable this in openbox?

I am aware of this post, but I am not sure how to integrate the suggested solution in my situation.

I don't use any external clipboard program, I don't have xclip or xsel installed. I assume the copy/paste functionality is native to openbox?