Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by shivams
Bounty Ended with tukan's answer chosen by shivams
added an alternative solution approach
Source Link
shivams
  • 4.6k
  • 4
  • 20
  • 38

Unable to disable ACPI wakeup devices on PopOS/Ubuntu 22.04 on Dell Latitude 7390 touchscreen

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 touchscreen laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with a higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.

UPDATE: Even when disabling all wakeup devices, it wakes up!

UPDATE: Even when I disable every wakeup device in /proc/acpi/wakeup, the laptop still wakes up by pressing the keyboard key (even though it doesn't wake-up up when I open the lid or press the power button).

UPDATE: How to disable the accelerometer?

And interestingly, I noticed that if I shake the laptop, then also it wakes up! That is what's been happening a lot when I put it inside my backbackpack. This must be happening because of accelerometer wake-packup. It wakes upSo, if I disable the accelerometer itself, then this problem should go away.

So, I pose an alternative question: How do I disable the accelerometer?

I should be able to unload the kernel modules for the relevant sensors using modprobe -r module_name, however I am stuck in a Catch-22 situation. They each seem to have a dependency on each other, and heats upsome have unlisted dependencies. Here are a list of important sensors:

$ lsmod | grep sensor

Module                  Size  Used by
hid_sensor_accel_3d    20480  1
hid_sensor_gyro_3d     20480  0
hid_sensor_magn_3d     20480  1
hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge    16384  0
hid_sensor_rotation    20480  0
hid_sensor_incl_3d     20480  0
hid_sensor_trigger     20480  12 hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation
industrialio_triggered_buffer    16384  1 hid_sensor_trigger
hid_sensor_iio_common    24576  7 hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_trigger,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation
industrialio          102400  11 industrialio_triggered_buffer,hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_trigger,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,kfifo_buf,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation
hid_sensor_custom      28672  0
hid_sensor_hub         28672  9 hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_trigger,hid_sensor_iio_common,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation,hid_sensor_custom
hid                   155648  7 i2c_hid,wacom,usbhid,hid_multitouch,hid_sensor_hub,intel_ishtp_hid,hid_generic

Some of the sensors have listed a number in the "Used By" column (but not specifically which module is using them). Hence, unloading them fails. One such sensor is hid_sensor_accel_3d which I wish to unload. But can't do it!

Unable to disable ACPI wakeup devices on PopOS/Ubuntu 22.04

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.

UPDATE: Even when I disable every wakeup device in /proc/acpi/wakeup, the laptop still wakes up by pressing the keyboard key (even though it doesn't wake-up when I open the lid or press the power button).

And interestingly, I noticed that if I shake the laptop, then also it wakes up! That is what's been happening a lot when I put it inside my back-pack. It wakes up and heats up!

Unable to disable wakeup devices on PopOS/Ubuntu 22.04 on Dell Latitude 7390 touchscreen

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 touchscreen laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with a higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.

UPDATE: Even when disabling all wakeup devices, it wakes up!

Even when I disable every wakeup device in /proc/acpi/wakeup, the laptop still wakes up by pressing the keyboard key (even though it doesn't wake up when I open the lid or press the power button).

UPDATE: How to disable the accelerometer?

I noticed that if I shake the laptop, then also it wakes up! That is what's been happening a lot when I put it inside my backpack. This must be happening because of accelerometer wake-up. So, if I disable the accelerometer itself, then this problem should go away.

So, I pose an alternative question: How do I disable the accelerometer?

I should be able to unload the kernel modules for the relevant sensors using modprobe -r module_name, however I am stuck in a Catch-22 situation. They each seem to have a dependency on each other, and some have unlisted dependencies. Here are a list of important sensors:

$ lsmod | grep sensor

Module                  Size  Used by
hid_sensor_accel_3d    20480  1
hid_sensor_gyro_3d     20480  0
hid_sensor_magn_3d     20480  1
hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge    16384  0
hid_sensor_rotation    20480  0
hid_sensor_incl_3d     20480  0
hid_sensor_trigger     20480  12 hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation
industrialio_triggered_buffer    16384  1 hid_sensor_trigger
hid_sensor_iio_common    24576  7 hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_trigger,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation
industrialio          102400  11 industrialio_triggered_buffer,hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_trigger,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,kfifo_buf,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation
hid_sensor_custom      28672  0
hid_sensor_hub         28672  9 hid_sensor_gyro_3d,hid_sensor_trigger,hid_sensor_iio_common,hid_sensor_custom_intel_hinge,hid_sensor_incl_3d,hid_sensor_accel_3d,hid_sensor_magn_3d,hid_sensor_rotation,hid_sensor_custom
hid                   155648  7 i2c_hid,wacom,usbhid,hid_multitouch,hid_sensor_hub,intel_ishtp_hid,hid_generic

Some of the sensors have listed a number in the "Used By" column (but not specifically which module is using them). Hence, unloading them fails. One such sensor is hid_sensor_accel_3d which I wish to unload. But can't do it!

Notice added Draw attention by shivams
Bounty Started worth 150 reputation by shivams
added 395 characters in body
Source Link
shivams
  • 4.6k
  • 4
  • 20
  • 38

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.

UPDATE: Even when I disable every wakeup device in /proc/acpi/wakeup, the laptop still wakes up by pressing the keyboard key (even though it doesn't wake-up when I open the lid or press the power button).

And interestingly, I noticed that if I shake the laptop, then also it wakes up! That is what's been happening a lot when I put it inside my back-pack. It wakes up and heats up!

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.

UPDATE: Even when I disable every wakeup device in /proc/acpi/wakeup, the laptop still wakes up by pressing the keyboard key (even though it doesn't wake-up when I open the lid or press the power button).

And interestingly, I noticed that if I shake the laptop, then also it wakes up! That is what's been happening a lot when I put it inside my back-pack. It wakes up and heats up!

Source Link
shivams
  • 4.6k
  • 4
  • 20
  • 38

Unable to disable ACPI wakeup devices on PopOS/Ubuntu 22.04

I have a Dell Latitude 7390 2-in-1 laptop. I have installed PopOS 22.04 on it (based on Ubuntu 22.04 but with higher kernel: 5.19.0). Now, whenever I put the laptop on suspend (say if I close the lid), then it randomly comes out of the suspend state and keeps consuming power.

To tackle this, I tried disabling all the wakeup devices (except the power button), using this:

for x in $(grep enabled /proc/acpi/wakeup | cut -f1 | grep -v PBTN)
do
  echo $x | sudo tee /proc/acpi/wakeup
done

However, it has no effect. The laptop still comes out of the sleep/suspend state using a keyboard or by opening the lid. I want to enforce that it comes out of the sleep state ONLY using the power button.