Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Formatting and tag
Source Link
AdminBee
  • 22.9k
  • 24
  • 50
  • 74

So today I wanted to add some extra alias to zsh.

I did the usual

nano ~/.zshrc

added my alias

ex: alias desktop="cd desktop"

(I've doubled checked that all variables for typos)

ctrl+o to save and ctrl+x to exit

After getting out I run:

source ~/.zshrc

And get the following error:

/Users/fridavbg/.zshrc:116: unmatched "

When running I get:

echo $SHELL /bin/zsh

  • I did the usual

    nano ~/.zshrc
    

    and added my alias

    ex:

    alias desktop="cd desktop"
    

    (I've doubled checked that all variables for typos)

    Ctrl+O to save and Ctrl+X to exit.

  • After getting out I run:

    source ~/.zshrc
    

    And get the following error:

    /Users/fridavbg/.zshrc:116: unmatched "
    
  • When running I get:

    echo $SHELL
    /bin/zsh
    

Any kind soul out there that could help me out or give me some resource that might help me figure out how to fix this?

It feels like this is something simple, but I'm a little scared to mess my path up completely. . . .

So today I wanted to add some extra alias to zsh.

I did the usual

nano ~/.zshrc

added my alias

ex: alias desktop="cd desktop"

(I've doubled checked that all variables for typos)

ctrl+o to save and ctrl+x to exit

After getting out I run:

source ~/.zshrc

And get the following error:

/Users/fridavbg/.zshrc:116: unmatched "

When running I get:

echo $SHELL /bin/zsh

Any kind soul out there that could help me out or give me some resource that might help me figure out how to fix this?

It feels like this is something simple, but I'm a little scared to mess my path up completely. . . .

So today I wanted to add some extra alias to zsh.

  • I did the usual

    nano ~/.zshrc
    

    and added my alias

    ex:

    alias desktop="cd desktop"
    

    (I've doubled checked that all variables for typos)

    Ctrl+O to save and Ctrl+X to exit.

  • After getting out I run:

    source ~/.zshrc
    

    And get the following error:

    /Users/fridavbg/.zshrc:116: unmatched "
    
  • When running I get:

    echo $SHELL
    /bin/zsh
    

Any kind soul out there that could help me out or give me some resource that might help me figure out how to fix this?

It feels like this is something simple, but I'm a little scared to mess my path up completely.

Source Link
fridavbg
  • 13
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3

zsh: When running source I get zshrc:116: unmatched

So today I wanted to add some extra alias to zsh.

I did the usual

nano ~/.zshrc

added my alias

ex: alias desktop="cd desktop"

(I've doubled checked that all variables for typos)

ctrl+o to save and ctrl+x to exit

After getting out I run:

source ~/.zshrc

And get the following error:

/Users/fridavbg/.zshrc:116: unmatched "

When running I get:

echo $SHELL /bin/zsh

Any kind soul out there that could help me out or give me some resource that might help me figure out how to fix this?

It feels like this is something simple, but I'm a little scared to mess my path up completely. . . .