Skip to main content

JustI just installed ZSH on a remote server where we are 2 "admins". I switched my default shell to ZSH with chsh -s $(which zsh). echo $SHELL gives the output of /usr/bin/zsh which proves thatit. But, when I open my ssh session I receive an error like:

/etc/profile.d/vk.sh:30: command not found: shopt

This error appears only at startup and iI see it only once when opening an ssh session.

In my understanding, the other admin placed some custom script with his own aliases and using shopt -s histappend "function"command there as well.

My question is, why my SSH ZSH session is invoking that script at startup? Isn't that shouldShouldn't it be "somehow" scoped just to my profile?

What would be a graceful solution for me to run ZSH without affecting/"touching"touching his stuff? Should I ask him to move that thing somewhere else in his home dir?

Just installed ZSH on remote server where we are 2 "admins". I switched my default shell to ZSH with chsh -s $(which zsh). echo $SHELL output of /usr/bin/zsh proves that. But, when I open my ssh session I receive error like:

/etc/profile.d/vk.sh:30: command not found: shopt

This error appears only at startup and i see it only once when opening ssh session.

In my understanding, other admin placed some custom script with his own aliases and using shopt -s histappend "function" there as well.

My question is, why my SSH ZSH session is invoking that script at startup? Isn't that should be "somehow" scoped just to my profile?

What would be graceful solution for me to run ZSH without affecting/"touching" his stuff? Should ask him to move that thing somewhere else in his home dir?

I just installed ZSH on a remote server where we are 2 "admins". I switched my default shell to ZSH with chsh -s $(which zsh). echo $SHELL gives the output /usr/bin/zsh which proves it. But, when I open my ssh session I receive an error like:

/etc/profile.d/vk.sh:30: command not found: shopt

This error appears only at startup and I see it only once when opening an ssh session.

In my understanding, the other admin placed some custom script with his own aliases and using shopt -s histappend command there as well.

My question is, why my SSH ZSH session invoking that script at startup? Shouldn't it be scoped just to my profile?

What would be a graceful solution for me to run ZSH without affecting/touching his stuff? Should I ask him to move that thing somewhere else in his home dir?

Source Link
Dzintars
  • 115
  • 2
  • 9

Multi-user env, SSH ZSH - command not found: shopt

Just installed ZSH on remote server where we are 2 "admins". I switched my default shell to ZSH with chsh -s $(which zsh). echo $SHELL output of /usr/bin/zsh proves that. But, when I open my ssh session I receive error like:

/etc/profile.d/vk.sh:30: command not found: shopt

This error appears only at startup and i see it only once when opening ssh session.

In my understanding, other admin placed some custom script with his own aliases and using shopt -s histappend "function" there as well.

My question is, why my SSH ZSH session is invoking that script at startup? Isn't that should be "somehow" scoped just to my profile?

What would be graceful solution for me to run ZSH without affecting/"touching" his stuff? Should ask him to move that thing somewhere else in his home dir?