Skip to main content
deleted 29 characters in body
Source Link
Rui F Ribeiro
  • 57k
  • 26
  • 151
  • 233

I want to run less -F command on latest updated log file of one binary (which creates logs with names which start with xtest*) which is in logs directory. I was able to create below alias in csh, but as I am not expert in aliases I I think I can improve this.

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F

I want to run less -F command on latest updated log file of one binary (which creates logs with names which start with xtest*) which is in logs directory. I was able to create below alias in csh, but as I am not expert in aliases I think I can improve this.

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F

I want to run less -F command on latest updated log file of one binary (which creates logs with names which start with xtest*) which is in logs directory. I was able to create below alias in csh, but I think I can improve this.

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F
edited title
Link

How can I improve below alias?

Formatting and markup. Also mention csh in question.
Source Link
Kusalananda
  • 338.9k
  • 37
  • 682
  • 991

I want to run less -Fcommand command on latest updated log file of one binary  (which creates logs with names which start with xtest*xtest*) which is in logs directory. I was able to create below alias in csh, but as I am not expert in aliases I think I can improve this.

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F

I want to run less -Fcommand on latest updated log file of one binary(which creates logs with names which start with xtest*) which is in logs directory. I was able to create below alias, as I am not expert in aliases I think I can improve this.

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F

I want to run less -F command on latest updated log file of one binary  (which creates logs with names which start with xtest*) which is in logs directory. I was able to create below alias in csh, but as I am not expert in aliases I think I can improve this.

find $LOG/tr/`date +"%Y%m%d"` -name xtest\* -print | xargs ls -rt | tail -1 | xargs less -F
Source Link
Loading