Skip to main content
edited title
Source Link
muru
  • 73.9k
  • 14
  • 204
  • 303

I'm writing a systemd timer. What value should I value use for WantedBy?

I'm writing a simple systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy in my timer file?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy=multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=default.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.

I'm writing a systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy?

I'm writing a simple systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy in my timer file?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy=multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=default.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.

I'm writing a systemd timer. What value should I use for WantedBy?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy=multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=default.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.

typo fix
Source Link
MountainX
  • 18.2k
  • 63
  • 164
  • 273

I'm writing a simple systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy in my timer file?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy==multiWantedBy=multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=default.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.

I'm writing a simple systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy in my timer file?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy==multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.

I'm writing a simple systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy in my timer file?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy=multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=default.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.

Source Link
MountainX
  • 18.2k
  • 63
  • 164
  • 273

I'm writing a systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy?

I'm writing a simple systemd timer. What should I value use for WantedBy in my timer file?

In various examples, I have seen all of these different choices suggested:

  • WantedBy=timers.target
  • WantedBy==multi-user.target
  • WantedBy=basic.target
  • WantedBy=mytimer.target (custom user-defined name)

However, in the examples I have found, no further explanation is offered.

The following pages also don't offer any explanation of WantedBy:

I want to understand one simple* method I can use when needed to write a systemd timer instead of a cron job.

* Setting up a cron job is 1 line. Systemd timers involve writing two files and running one or two systemctl commands. But that fact alone is not necessarily what makes systemd timers harder than cron in my experience -- it's the multitude of options and the (seeming) lack of clear documentation with simple examples that are fully explained.