Skip to main content
added 458 characters in body
Source Link
sourcejedi
  • 51.1k
  • 22
  • 161
  • 318

It sounds more like System Rescue CD uses GRUB, not syslinux. My grub64.efi is about 1MB, but I imagine you can build it with fewer modules included.

The image you copied is called syslinux.efi, so I would not call it isolinux. I expect it looks for a file called syslinux.cfg, not isolinux.cfg. (isolinux will fall back to syslinux.cfg though).

I also notice you say "all ISOLINUX configuration files are in the root folder". I can't tell how you created the ISO. Remember that the bootloader needs to be in a special boot image, not the directory tree you see if you mount the iso9660 filesystem. Obviously VirtualBox is booting something so that's not the problem here, but if it's more permissive than other systems then you might still be doing the "wrong" thing.

The hybrid boot images set up by "several popular Linux distributions" are highly entertaining to read about, but the last I read it wasn't quite possible to have a single image supporting all of Mac, 32-bit EFI... there are at least firmwares that see multiple of the boot images and ask the user to choose between "1" and "2". Just a note before anyone tries going down the rabbit hole, at least with the Mac-specific support, it might be safer only to implement the parts you're able to test.

It sounds more like System Rescue CD uses GRUB, not syslinux. My grub64.efi is about 1MB, but I imagine you can build it with fewer modules included.

The image you copied is called syslinux.efi, so I would not call it isolinux. I expect it looks for a file called syslinux.cfg, not isolinux.cfg. (isolinux will fall back to syslinux.cfg though).

I also notice you say "all ISOLINUX configuration files are in the root folder". I can't tell how you created the ISO. Remember that the bootloader needs to be in a special boot image, not the directory tree you see if you mount the iso9660 filesystem. Obviously VirtualBox is booting something so that's not the problem here, but if it's more permissive than other systems then you might still be doing the "wrong" thing.

It sounds more like System Rescue CD uses GRUB, not syslinux. My grub64.efi is about 1MB, but I imagine you can build it with fewer modules included.

The image you copied is called syslinux.efi, so I would not call it isolinux. I expect it looks for a file called syslinux.cfg, not isolinux.cfg. (isolinux will fall back to syslinux.cfg though).

I also notice you say "all ISOLINUX configuration files are in the root folder". I can't tell how you created the ISO. Remember that the bootloader needs to be in a special boot image, not the directory tree you see if you mount the iso9660 filesystem. Obviously VirtualBox is booting something so that's not the problem here, but if it's more permissive than other systems then you might still be doing the "wrong" thing.

The hybrid boot images set up by "several popular Linux distributions" are highly entertaining to read about, but the last I read it wasn't quite possible to have a single image supporting all of Mac, 32-bit EFI... there are at least firmwares that see multiple of the boot images and ask the user to choose between "1" and "2". Just a note before anyone tries going down the rabbit hole, at least with the Mac-specific support, it might be safer only to implement the parts you're able to test.

Source Link
sourcejedi
  • 51.1k
  • 22
  • 161
  • 318

It sounds more like System Rescue CD uses GRUB, not syslinux. My grub64.efi is about 1MB, but I imagine you can build it with fewer modules included.

The image you copied is called syslinux.efi, so I would not call it isolinux. I expect it looks for a file called syslinux.cfg, not isolinux.cfg. (isolinux will fall back to syslinux.cfg though).

I also notice you say "all ISOLINUX configuration files are in the root folder". I can't tell how you created the ISO. Remember that the bootloader needs to be in a special boot image, not the directory tree you see if you mount the iso9660 filesystem. Obviously VirtualBox is booting something so that's not the problem here, but if it's more permissive than other systems then you might still be doing the "wrong" thing.