Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
Ivan Davidov
  • 511
  • 2
  • 4
  • 13

EDIT 12 - (Dec-2017):

EDIT 1 - (Dec-2017):

EDIT 2 - (Dec-2017):

Added update on the issue.
Source Link
Ivan Davidov
  • 511
  • 2
  • 4
  • 13

EDIT 1 - (Jan-20162017):

Even though I have solution which works fine, the question is still open!.

EDIT 1 - (Dec-2017):

This is in addition to the previous update. The solution with startup.nsh works only if the UEFI system has 'UEFI Shell' (according to the UEFI specs the firmware may or may not provide shell) and only if this shell has support level 1 or above. Also, there is no guarantee that the startup script will be executed, because the proper way to provide ESP in ISO image is via 'El Torito' boot image. Providing ESP compatible structure directly on the ISO image seems to work fine on certain firmwares but it is not universal solution.

The question is still open but meanwhile I managed to integrate systemd-boot and I no longer consider this issue as high priority.

EDIT (Jan-2016):

Even though I have solution which works fine, the question is still open!

EDIT 1 - (Jan-2017):

Even though I have solution which works fine, the question is still open.

EDIT 1 - (Dec-2017):

This is in addition to the previous update. The solution with startup.nsh works only if the UEFI system has 'UEFI Shell' (according to the UEFI specs the firmware may or may not provide shell) and only if this shell has support level 1 or above. Also, there is no guarantee that the startup script will be executed, because the proper way to provide ESP in ISO image is via 'El Torito' boot image. Providing ESP compatible structure directly on the ISO image seems to work fine on certain firmwares but it is not universal solution.

The question is still open but meanwhile I managed to integrate systemd-boot and I no longer consider this issue as high priority.

added 665 characters in body
Source Link
Ivan Davidov
  • 511
  • 2
  • 4
  • 13

EDIT (Jan-2016):

It has been very long time without answer, so I implemented my solution in quite different way:

  • I don't use Syslinux in UEFI boot mode.
  • I compiled my Linux kernel with EFI stub.
  • I created simple startup.nsh script which is executed automatically after UEFI boot.
  • The same script loads the kernel and the initramfs.

In this way I lose some of the boot functionality, e.g. vga=ask which works fine in Syslinux but it doesn't work in UEFI mode since this particular boot option requires proper Linux boot loader.

Even though I have solution which works fine, the question is still open!


EDIT (Jan-2016):

It has been very long time without answer, so I implemented my solution in quite different way:

  • I don't use Syslinux in UEFI boot mode.
  • I compiled my Linux kernel with EFI stub.
  • I created simple startup.nsh script which is executed automatically after UEFI boot.
  • The same script loads the kernel and the initramfs.

In this way I lose some of the boot functionality, e.g. vga=ask which works fine in Syslinux but it doesn't work in UEFI mode since this particular boot option requires proper Linux boot loader.

Even though I have solution which works fine, the question is still open!

added 66 characters in body
Source Link
Ivan Davidov
  • 511
  • 2
  • 4
  • 13
Loading
Source Link
Ivan Davidov
  • 511
  • 2
  • 4
  • 13
Loading