Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
focus on the question that everybody answered, remove the parts that nobody answered
Source Link
Gilles 'SO- stop being evil'
  • 838.7k
  • 198
  • 1.8k
  • 2.2k

Can I change root's email address or forward all mailit to an external address?

I'm getting a lot of mail in my root user's mail account. This appears to be mostly reports and errors from things like cron scripts. I'm trying to work though and solve these things, possibly even have them be piped to some sort of "dashboard" - but until then how can I have these messages go to my personal e-mail account instead?

For a bonus point, what is a good dashboard style tool that I could send these types of notices to so that I could review them all? Possibly a nagios plugin, or a ticketing software like Jira? I'm new to the world of sysadmin so I'm not sure what the best practice for something like that is - especially if there are multiple servers generating things like this.

Can I change root's email address or forward all mail to an external address?

I'm getting a lot of mail in my root user's mail account. This appears to be mostly reports and errors from things like cron scripts. I'm trying to work though and solve these things, possibly even have them be piped to some sort of "dashboard" - but until then how can I have these messages go to my personal e-mail account instead?

For a bonus point, what is a good dashboard style tool that I could send these types of notices to so that I could review them all? Possibly a nagios plugin, or a ticketing software like Jira? I'm new to the world of sysadmin so I'm not sure what the best practice for something like that is - especially if there are multiple servers generating things like this.

Can I change root's email address or forward it to an external address?

I'm getting a lot of mail in my root user's mail account. This appears to be mostly reports and errors from things like cron scripts. I'm trying to work though and solve these things, possibly even have them be piped to some sort of "dashboard" - but until then how can I have these messages go to my personal e-mail account instead?

Source Link
cwd
  • 45.7k
  • 72
  • 150
  • 170

Can I change root's email address or forward all mail to an external address?

I'm getting a lot of mail in my root user's mail account. This appears to be mostly reports and errors from things like cron scripts. I'm trying to work though and solve these things, possibly even have them be piped to some sort of "dashboard" - but until then how can I have these messages go to my personal e-mail account instead?

For a bonus point, what is a good dashboard style tool that I could send these types of notices to so that I could review them all? Possibly a nagios plugin, or a ticketing software like Jira? I'm new to the world of sysadmin so I'm not sure what the best practice for something like that is - especially if there are multiple servers generating things like this.