Skip to main content
added 33 characters in body
Source Link
RAKK
  • 1.4k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 35

I am installing KDE on a Gentoo Linux Hardened system. The official Gentoo wiki says the recommended way is to apply the KDE desktop profile, issue emerge -NDu --with-bdeps=y @world, and then install the kdebase-meta package. However, I am on the Hardened profile and apparently I can only have one selected profile at once.

So far I've been successful with manually applying the KDE profile's global and per-package USE flags on my Portage configuration files (/etc/portage/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use and stuff), but I fear this hack might be rather difficult to maintain in the long run as the Gentoo dev team modifies the profile and every. Every time I get a Portage update, I'd have to reapply the desktop and desktop/kde profiles' USE flags and configuration just in case they were changed.

Is there any other way to have multiple active Portage profiles at once on Gentoo Linux?

I am installing KDE on a Gentoo Linux Hardened system. The official Gentoo wiki says the recommended way is to apply the KDE desktop profile, issue emerge -NDu --with-bdeps=y @world, and then install the kdebase-meta package. However, I am on the Hardened profile and apparently I can only have one selected profile at once.

So far I've been successful with manually applying the KDE profile's global and per-package USE flags on my Portage configuration files (/etc/portage/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use and stuff), but I fear this hack might be rather difficult to maintain in the long run as the Gentoo dev team modifies the profile and every time I get a Portage update I'd have to reapply the desktop and desktop/kde profiles' flags and configuration.

Is there any other way to have multiple active Portage profiles at once on Gentoo Linux?

I am installing KDE on a Gentoo Linux Hardened system. The official Gentoo wiki says the recommended way is to apply the KDE desktop profile, issue emerge -NDu --with-bdeps=y @world, and then install the kdebase-meta package. However, I am on the Hardened profile and apparently I can only have one selected profile at once.

So far I've been successful with manually applying the KDE profile's global and per-package USE flags on my Portage configuration files (/etc/portage/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use and stuff), but I fear this hack might be rather difficult to maintain in the long run as the Gentoo dev team modifies the profile. Every time I get a Portage update, I'd have to reapply the desktop and desktop/kde profiles' USE flags and configuration just in case they were changed.

Is there any other way to have multiple active Portage profiles at once on Gentoo Linux?

Source Link
RAKK
  • 1.4k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 35

How do I apply multiple profiles at once on Gentoo?

I am installing KDE on a Gentoo Linux Hardened system. The official Gentoo wiki says the recommended way is to apply the KDE desktop profile, issue emerge -NDu --with-bdeps=y @world, and then install the kdebase-meta package. However, I am on the Hardened profile and apparently I can only have one selected profile at once.

So far I've been successful with manually applying the KDE profile's global and per-package USE flags on my Portage configuration files (/etc/portage/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use and stuff), but I fear this hack might be rather difficult to maintain in the long run as the Gentoo dev team modifies the profile and every time I get a Portage update I'd have to reapply the desktop and desktop/kde profiles' flags and configuration.

Is there any other way to have multiple active Portage profiles at once on Gentoo Linux?