Skip to main content
replaced http://unix.stackexchange.com/ with https://unix.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agentConnecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent.

╰─ ps aux | grep gpg-agent
wilhelm  26079  0.0  0.0  20268   980 ?        Ss   20:57   0:00 gpg-agent --daemon --enable-ssh-support --sh
wilhelm  31559  0.0  0.0  12724  2184 pts/1    S+   22:49   0:00 grep --color=auto --exclude-dir=.bzr --exclude-dir=CVS --exclude-dir=.git --exclude-dir=.hg --exclude-dir=.svn gpg-agent

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent.

╰─ ps aux | grep gpg-agent
wilhelm  26079  0.0  0.0  20268   980 ?        Ss   20:57   0:00 gpg-agent --daemon --enable-ssh-support --sh
wilhelm  31559  0.0  0.0  12724  2184 pts/1    S+   22:49   0:00 grep --color=auto --exclude-dir=.bzr --exclude-dir=CVS --exclude-dir=.git --exclude-dir=.hg --exclude-dir=.svn gpg-agent

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent.

╰─ ps aux | grep gpg-agent
wilhelm  26079  0.0  0.0  20268   980 ?        Ss   20:57   0:00 gpg-agent --daemon --enable-ssh-support --sh
wilhelm  31559  0.0  0.0  12724  2184 pts/1    S+   22:49   0:00 grep --color=auto --exclude-dir=.bzr --exclude-dir=CVS --exclude-dir=.git --exclude-dir=.hg --exclude-dir=.svn gpg-agent
added 342 characters in body
Source Link

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent. 

╰─ ps aux | grep gpg-agent
wilhelm  26079  0.0  0.0  20268   980 ?        Ss   20:57   0:00 gpg-agent --daemon --enable-ssh-support --sh
wilhelm  31559  0.0  0.0  12724  2184 pts/1    S+   22:49   0:00 grep --color=auto --exclude-dir=.bzr --exclude-dir=CVS --exclude-dir=.git --exclude-dir=.hg --exclude-dir=.svn gpg-agent

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent.

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent. 

╰─ ps aux | grep gpg-agent
wilhelm  26079  0.0  0.0  20268   980 ?        Ss   20:57   0:00 gpg-agent --daemon --enable-ssh-support --sh
wilhelm  31559  0.0  0.0  12724  2184 pts/1    S+   22:49   0:00 grep --color=auto --exclude-dir=.bzr --exclude-dir=CVS --exclude-dir=.git --exclude-dir=.hg --exclude-dir=.svn gpg-agent
added 88 characters in body
Source Link

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent.

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

I have a Yubikey 4 and I want to use my GPG keys stored on this to authenticate to SSH servers.
I want to use GitHub for a start. I have already added my GPG authentication key to GitHub.

My problem is that when I ssh, my agent doesn't use this key. I've checked by trying to connect to my VPS with ssh -v but it skips my GPG key. My Yubikey is plugged in and gpg2 --card-status shows all the details. I am able to sign and decrypt fine as well as use the other features of the Yubikey.

The ssh ouput

debug1: Authentications that can continue: publickey
debug1: Next authentication method: publickey
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_rsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_dsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ecdsa
debug1: Trying private key: /home/wilhelm/.ssh/id_ed25519
debug1: No more authentication methods to try.
Permission denied (publickey).

I have disabled gnome password manager.

I've looked at Connecting SSH and Git to gpg-agent and followed the suggestion, but it doesn't seem to be working.

╰─ ssh-add -l
Could not open a connection to your authentication agent.
Source Link
Loading