Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • 1
    While I'm a firm believer in positive thinking, I find it interesting that there seems to be zero consideration given to the possibility that the drive itself is faulty. Have you explored that eventuality at all? Granted, it is encouraging that your partition tables were retrieved easily, but that only ensures some 4MB of the whole device is still capable of data retention. On linux I usually debug disk interface issues with smartmon, smartctl, smartd. I can say that I once had a similar drive and had given it up for lost, but it has worked since I removed it from the enclosure,
    – mikeserv
    Commented Jun 13, 2015 at 8:20
  • 1
    I was able to ddrescue a copy of the disk off to an image file on another drive with no errors reported, so I doubt it's a hardware issue.
    – ID-ZERO
    Commented Jun 13, 2015 at 14:44
  • It is not mountable? So what does lsblk -f - does the kernel see any fs on it at all?
    – mikeserv
    Commented Jun 14, 2015 at 2:49