Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Thanks! This is useful in general although I might have been unclear in my question. The problem for me is that the device disconnects and changes while the application is running. I might be going about this the wrong way, too; maybe what I really need is a way to keep it from resetting -- /dev/sdb or not, thinking about it the reset probably ruins the file handles anyways. What I'm going to try is accessing it like you say here, and then perhaps I can detect the disconnect via error codes in software, but then I can just reopen the device using a /dev/disk path so I don't have to guess.
    – Jason C
    Commented Jun 12, 2014 at 20:52
  • ^ If I can get that working I'll mark this as the solution, even though it's not a direct answer it is really helpful and gives me some ideas.
    – Jason C
    Commented Jun 12, 2014 at 20:52
  • 1
    It occurred to me that if you're not occasionally re-opening the device it might get confusing. But if an error occurs, closing and reopening the device using the same path should get you back on track, and like you said, no guessing what the device name is. If the drive is corrupt, behavior is undefined, best of luck.
    – lornix
    Commented Jun 12, 2014 at 21:15