Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 6, 2018 at 21:48 answer added Tim timeline score: 3
Mar 10, 2015 at 18:01 comment added RAKK I've had very bad experiences with migrating a Gentoo installation to a different compiler profile (from one time I fumbled profile selection and ended up installing a 32 bit system when I wanted 64 bits). It is theoretically possible, but compiler profile is the big show stopper, and that's just between different profiles of Gentoo, let alone migrating to an entirely different distro with different package assortment, organization and everything. I'd suggest installing from scratch. It's going to suck big time... but it is how it is.
Jul 22, 2014 at 21:30 history tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackUnix/status/491696773409558528
Mar 3, 2014 at 20:08 comment added Tim @Heather This is what I did (after not being able to do it the way I intended).
Mar 3, 2014 at 18:44 comment added cnd I will suggest just to make new clean installation and transfer only data you need there. But what you said is correct and it's complicated in the same time. It's not documented and I doubt someone can consultate you here being sure in everything.
Jan 14, 2014 at 9:12 comment added Tim @lkraav I went to Funtoo some years ago, because the packages were newer there and portage sync was much faster (git instead of rsync). Now the Funtoo packages tend to be older and masked in a way that many ebuilds from overlays do not work. Also multilib works rather badly (ABI_X86="64 32" cannot be used, because some dependencies have those flags removed in the Funtoo versions), although I do not yet know if this is better on Gentoo it certainly is worth a try.
Jan 13, 2014 at 23:48 comment added lkraav Curiosity: why the move? (I've always been Gentoo)
Jan 13, 2014 at 15:30 history asked Tim CC BY-SA 3.0