Skip to main content
29 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 14, 2023 at 20:39 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Trying to use the correct terms as applicable: moderator, high-rep, user, contributor etc, as suggested by Stephen Kitt's comment on 14-Mar-2023. Trying to simplify the question as much as possible without removing detail relevant to the answers and comments.
Mar 13, 2023 at 7:31 comment added Stephen Kitt @rwarvi muru is still not a moderator.
Mar 13, 2023 at 2:17 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Reorganise, simplify.
Mar 13, 2023 at 1:10 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Reordered question
Sep 19, 2022 at 5:21 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Changed heading to "Additional Information".
Aug 13, 2022 at 15:30 comment added Nordine Lotfi I'm glad, really @rwarvi because I was in a slightly similar situation as you were when I first joined Unix, as well as some other minor times when it happened. I also notice a lot of what you noticed, especially Observation 3, which I never really knew how to complain about, because of many obvious reasons. So yes, I'm really glad someone else noticed this and proved to me that this wasn't just a figment of my imagination. Thank you P.S.: Before it is pointed, yes, I already read the answers to this post.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:24 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Removed comments.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:22 comment added rwarvi In summary, here were my incorrect assertions: (a) muru and Stephen Kitt were moderators; (b) not being able to upvote, downvote, comment on or delete self-posts were designed features aimed to limit new users; (c) the in-built command read on my Mac OS X was POSIX.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:22 comment added rwarvi Thank you for your honesty and humour user414777. As for your comment that Gilles 'SO- stop being evil' "made incorrect claims, like that cat ever choked on NUL bytes or inputs not terminated by newlines", he did say "some older implementations [of text processing tools]" but doesn't explicitly state which.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:22 comment added rwarvi Kusalananda, I incorrectly assumed Stephen Kitt was a moderator because he found out very quickly that I edited my post. For such a heavily used site I expected around 20 - 50 moderators. I think his comment was later deleted not because it contained false information but because it became irrelevant. But I still wanted it explained.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:21 comment added rwarvi - Stephen Kitt, yes, I was not using POSIX read. Though I cannot see the first-posts nor the late-answers queues because I "need at least 500 reputation", I can see how you found my answer. I did read the question, answers and even the links in the question. I admit that my answer had no added benefit. My purpose for navigating to that question was initially to contact muru by editing his answer. Things became entangled when I created my own answer which was basically a duplicate of the other answers. When I couldn't delete that answer I attempted vainly to improve it.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:20 comment added rwarvi terdon, yes, I was logged in when attempting to perform the delete and comments, as my login symbol was visible in the top right of the header. If new users are permitted to comment, delete, upvote, downvote etc on their own zero-rated posts, then my case was isolated.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:19 comment added rwarvi My apologies to muru and Stephen Kitt for some of the ignorant and subjective statements. There was no technical or ethical fault on your part.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:19 comment added rwarvi terdon, thank you for the thorough answer and the POSIX read specification. Now I see where I went wrong. In future I will pay greater heed to my test environment. The phrase "was probably upvoted by Stephen Kitt" was not quite an assumption but a calculated guess. There was only one vote that day and it seemed to coincide with Stephen Kitt's comment. But yes, it should not have been made.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:19 comment added rwarvi Michael Homer, again, you are correct that I was not testing with POSIX read on my machine. My mistake.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:19 comment added rwarvi Michael Homer, thank you for identifying my problem with the buttons. It was a client-side Javascript issue. Because I was able to edit posts I did not suspect it to be the cause of the problems. The Javascript on my browser showed limitations with other websites. It was not until I tested the the buttons on a new system that I confirmed the problem.
Aug 1, 2022 at 5:18 comment added rwarvi Firstly I appreciate all the responses here which have been professional and courteous; I thank everyone for the education and apologise for the use of time over a trivial matter. Many of my statements were flawed and blinded and I accept responsibility for this. Please forgive my ignorance.
Nov 6, 2020 at 4:12 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Tried to condense the comments.
Nov 5, 2020 at 6:51 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Added more comments to @Kusalananda and @Michael Homer. Cleaned up some of the comments.
Nov 5, 2020 at 5:12 comment added Michael Homer The "add a comment" link is not a real link; it dynamically creates a comment form on the page when clicked, and going to the URL as you have takes you nowhere, suggesting that JavaScript is not working for you. The deletion button is the same.
Nov 5, 2020 at 4:13 history edited rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0
Added an appendix, addressing the comments and answers of @terdon, @Stephen Kitt, @user414777 etc.
Nov 4, 2020 at 17:31 comment added user313992 No, you're wrong. It's me who upvoted muru's answer, not Stephen Kitt. I upvoted it not because I found it great, but because I found it no shittier than the highly upvoted answer by Gilles, which I had downvoted (because it made incorrect claims, like that cat ever choked on NUL bytes or inputs not terminated by newlines). I was unaware of all the drama around that Q&A -- I got there by just idly clicking around.
Nov 4, 2020 at 15:24 comment added muru Heh, if anything, I thought you might have upvoted my answer, since the most recent activity on my answer and on that question was by you. Also, to clarify, when I said "horrendously slow," I meant the operation in general, not just the specific read of a MB. It's like doing a while read line; do echo "$line" | sed ...; done instead of just sed ....
Nov 4, 2020 at 13:09 answer added Stephen Kitt timeline score: 8
Nov 4, 2020 at 11:45 answer added terdonMod timeline score: 15
Nov 4, 2020 at 6:42 comment added Kusalananda Mod Regarding observation 3. If the user deleted their comment, why is this an issue?
Nov 4, 2020 at 6:39 comment added Kusalananda Mod You mention "moderators" in you message, but since none of the users that you mention are actual moderators on this site I assume that you mean this in the looser sense "contributor" or "editor". At the time of writing, the site has four moderators.
Nov 4, 2020 at 6:28 comment added Michael Homer There is no -n nor -d in POSIX read (because it's "limited"), so "doesn't work" was probably intended to be a polite way to say something about that suggestion.
Nov 4, 2020 at 5:19 history asked rwarvi CC BY-SA 4.0