Skip to main content
Let's put the answer in the answer and the question in the question (edit to answer to follow)
Source Link
Zach Lipton
  • 86.3k
  • 13
  • 272
  • 325

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

removed lots of irrelevant material.
Source Link
David Richerby
  • 18.6k
  • 13
  • 63
  • 110

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

  • Crossing: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

  • Visit: It is almost an unbelievable sight, you definitely have to see it. Not only that you get to go through the tunnels and see the water flowing in front of you (there is a railing to stop you if you slip, but exercise caution.) As far as I can tell, Canadian side is so much better to view than American side. Also, don't forget to go to the biggest butterfly museum and botanical gardens (1000 acres of it). Also, go on to the top of Skylon tower, I thought it is worth it. Although, our room view for the falls was also very good. Toronto takes more than a day to visit. May be next time, I will have time to see more. Experience the trip yourself, don't go with the travel bookings.

  • Food: We went to some small villages to experience local food and also went to AG (highly recommended on Trip advisor and me too but you will be spending at least 100 if you are a party of 2). The food was very delicious, makes me want to go again just for food. Enjoy!

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience:

  • Crossing: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

  • Visit: It is almost an unbelievable sight, you definitely have to see it. Not only that you get to go through the tunnels and see the water flowing in front of you (there is a railing to stop you if you slip, but exercise caution.) As far as I can tell, Canadian side is so much better to view than American side. Also, don't forget to go to the biggest butterfly museum and botanical gardens (1000 acres of it). Also, go on to the top of Skylon tower, I thought it is worth it. Although, our room view for the falls was also very good. Toronto takes more than a day to visit. May be next time, I will have time to see more. Experience the trip yourself, don't go with the travel bookings.

  • Food: We went to some small villages to experience local food and also went to AG (highly recommended on Trip advisor and me too but you will be spending at least 100 if you are a party of 2). The food was very delicious, makes me want to go again just for food. Enjoy!

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

eTa - New entry requirement now in effect
Source Link

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience:

  • Crossing: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

  • Visit: It is almost an unbelievable sight, you definitely have to see it. Not only that you get to go through the tunnels and see the water flowing in front of you (there is a railing to stop you if you slip, but exercise caution.) As far as I can tell, Canadian side is so much better to view than American side. Also, don't forget to go to the biggest butterfly museum and botanical gardens (1000 acres of it). Also, go on to the top of Skylon tower, I thought it is worth it. Although, our room view for the falls was also very good. Toronto takes more than a day to visit. May be next time, I will have time to see more. Experience the trip yourself, don't go with the travel bookings.

  • Food: We went to some small villages to experience local food and also went to AG (highly recommended on Trip advisor and me too but you will be spending at least 100 if you are a party of 2). The food was very delicious, makes me want to go again just for food. Enjoy!

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada): http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience:

  • Crossing: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

  • Visit: It is almost an unbelievable sight, you definitely have to see it. Not only that you get to go through the tunnels and see the water flowing in front of you (there is a railing to stop you if you slip, but exercise caution.) As far as I can tell, Canadian side is so much better to view than American side. Also, don't forget to go to the biggest butterfly museum and botanical gardens (1000 acres of it). Also, go on to the top of Skylon tower, I thought it is worth it. Although, our room view for the falls was also very good. Toronto takes more than a day to visit. May be next time, I will have time to see more. Experience the trip yourself, don't go with the travel bookings.

  • Food: We went to some small villages to experience local food and also went to AG (highly recommended on Trip advisor and me too but you will be spending at least 100 if you are a party of 2). The food was very delicious, makes me want to go again just for food. Enjoy!

UPDATE - New entry requirement now in effect: Please refer to this link for more information on eTA( Electronic Travel Authorization) to fly to or transit through Canada):

a) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/helpcentre/answer.asp?qnum=593&top=16

b) http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta-start.asp

  • (However, lawful permanent residents of the U.S. need an eTA if travelling by air.)

I am planning to drive to Niagara Falls to see it from the Canadian side. I have heard good things about seeing it from the other side. So, I want to stay in Toronto for a day, see Niagara Falls and come back.

I have a green card, and, my wife is a citizen from US.

I have read this link, http://www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_falls_travel_tips.htm, and this doesn't talk about person with a green card. So, could you advise if I can go to the Canadian side or give me links on this one? I am on an Indian passport.

EDIT: My experience:

  • Crossing: We went there at around 7:30 in the morning to avoid the long queue. The border security official asked us to give us our passports, I have given my green card as well with the passport, she asked the purpose of our visit and how many days we were planning to stay. The whole process took around 10 minutes, 7-8 minutes for waiting and 2-3 minutes with the official.

  • Visit: It is almost an unbelievable sight, you definitely have to see it. Not only that you get to go through the tunnels and see the water flowing in front of you (there is a railing to stop you if you slip, but exercise caution.) As far as I can tell, Canadian side is so much better to view than American side. Also, don't forget to go to the biggest butterfly museum and botanical gardens (1000 acres of it). Also, go on to the top of Skylon tower, I thought it is worth it. Although, our room view for the falls was also very good. Toronto takes more than a day to visit. May be next time, I will have time to see more. Experience the trip yourself, don't go with the travel bookings.

  • Food: We went to some small villages to experience local food and also went to AG (highly recommended on Trip advisor and me too but you will be spending at least 100 if you are a party of 2). The food was very delicious, makes me want to go again just for food. Enjoy!

eTa - New entry requirement now in effect
Source Link
Loading
eTA
Source Link
Loading
Question Protected by mindcorrosive
copyediting
Source Link
Relaxed
  • 108.8k
  • 10
  • 237
  • 394
Loading
experience
Source Link
Loading
experience
Source Link
Loading
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackTravel/status/238153476868296704
edited title
Link
Mark Mayo
  • 159.5k
  • 104
  • 680
  • 1.5k
Loading
added 29 characters in body
Source Link
Mark Mayo
  • 159.5k
  • 104
  • 680
  • 1.5k
Loading
added 5 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
deleted 2 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Ankur Banerjee
  • 38.5k
  • 18
  • 140
  • 250
Loading
Source Link
Loading