Skip to main content

I am asking on behalf of my friend.

My friend doesn't have a gender (in other words they are gender-neutral) and on their new passport their gender is represented as X (indeterminate/unspecified). Previously booking a flight wasn't an issue because theirstheir previous passports stated they arewere a woman.

The problem is every time you book a flight you need to choose from 2 genders. Now they will be travelling from a Sweden to Russia but the question applies to their future flights too, anywhere in the world.

What gender should choose a person who is not cisgender choose when booking a flight? Does it depend on a flight operator or flight destination?

I am asking on behalf of my friend.

My friend doesn't have a gender (in other words they are gender-neutral) and on their new passport their gender is represented as X (indeterminate/unspecified). Previously booking a flight wasn't an issue because theirs previous passports stated they are a woman.

The problem is every time you book a flight you need to choose from 2 genders. Now they will be travelling from a Sweden to Russia but the question applies to their future flights too, anywhere in the world.

What gender should choose a person who is not cisgender when booking a flight? Does it depend on a flight operator or flight destination?

I am asking on behalf of my friend.

My friend doesn't have a gender (in other words they are gender-neutral) and on their new passport their gender is represented as X (indeterminate/unspecified). Previously booking a flight wasn't an issue because their previous passports stated they were a woman.

The problem is every time you book a flight you need to choose from 2 genders. Now they will be travelling from Sweden to Russia but the question applies to their future flights too, anywhere in the world.

What gender should a person who is not cisgender choose when booking a flight? Does it depend on a flight operator or flight destination?

Question Protected by RoflcoptrException
Tweeted twitter.com/StackTravel/status/781089332593561600
edited tags
Link
JoErNanO
  • 52.7k
  • 18
  • 165
  • 274
edited title
Link
kukis
  • 914
  • 1
  • 7
  • 15

How to book a flight if I my passport doesn't state my gender?

edited title
Link
JonathanReez
  • 81.9k
  • 85
  • 379
  • 736
Loading
Source Link
kukis
  • 914
  • 1
  • 7
  • 15
Loading