Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
VMAtm
  • 22.4k
  • 15
  • 87
  • 130

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian whose visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. BorderBorder guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian whose visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. Border guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian whose visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. Border guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.

edited body
Source Link
Mark Mayo
  • 159.5k
  • 104
  • 680
  • 1.5k

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian who'swhose visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. Border guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian who's visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. Border guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian whose visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. Border guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.

Source Link
Mark Mayo
  • 159.5k
  • 104
  • 680
  • 1.5k

I've been on a Russian train with a Canadian who's visa expired during the train ride (so just a couple of hours) as we crossed the border after midnight into Mongolia. Said passenger was marched off the train ("there is ... problem") and returned hours later with multiple fines and a black mark against their name.

Short answer: It's not worth the risk. Border guards are not known for their leniency and "I thought we could just wait" or "I didn't realise" is almost never an acceptable answer.