Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

11
  • 5
    I wonder what would happen if the border crossing was scheduled at 22:00 but the train is delayed and passes after midnight...
    – gerrit
    Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 10:37
  • 21
    I think the correct answer is that "not worth the risk going to Russia".... Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 10:49
  • 16
    @IanRingrose I don't think they're unique in this respect, most countries frown heavily against visa misuse.
    – Mark Mayo
    Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 11:25
  • 12
    Nobody else mentioned anything about bribes and being beaten up?!! We're merely talking about border guards not allowing you in early. That's all this answer contains.
    – Mark Mayo
    Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 11:46
  • 7
    @IanRingrose I'm 99% sure that's a myth. Even in Transnistria (the most corrupt of the former Soviet states) they don't do that. Yes, they threatened to destroy my passport and put me in jail for 20 years for illegal Immigration (because I wasn't checked on entry and so didn't get a Migration Card, but was checked on Exit), but when I remained unafraid they eventually backed off
    – Crazydre
    Commented Jun 23, 2016 at 14:47