Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 11, 2019 at 1:36 comment added Jan @Hunter That’s actually a good point I could have used as a source had I remembered it.
Jul 10, 2019 at 18:37 comment added Hunter Here (vr.fi/cs/vr/en/abc_russia) is the note on Russian visa validity on the Tolstoi train: "The [Russian] visa must be valid when crossing the border. You must take this into account in particular when travelling in the overnight train Tolstoi as the train crosses the border only during the day following the day of departure."
Aug 24, 2016 at 11:26 history edited Jan CC BY-SA 3.0
Improved the wording of a sentence.
Jul 5, 2016 at 0:20 vote accept Crazydre
Jun 24, 2016 at 21:55 comment added Jan @AndreyChernyakhovskiy The people he was chatting with were obviously Finns. Come from outside of the EU and things change drastically …
Jun 24, 2016 at 1:24 comment added Andrew Savinykh @Mehrdad the exit was at a different geographic location than the entrance. So no it was not the same officer. They did not ask any clarification from me, so I personally did not even know what the problem had been until I was returned my passport an hour later with two new stamps. One was a template filled in by hand (for entry), the name of the town was crossed out and the name of entry town was pasted instead and the other one was the standard exit stamp.
Jun 24, 2016 at 1:19 comment added user541686 @zespri: How did they "realize what happened" was that the officer was "polite/chatty"? Was it the same officer or something?
Jun 23, 2016 at 20:32 comment added BlueBuddy @Aron I've heard cavity searches are pretty terrifying. Hopefully can avoid that by not illegally entering ;)
Jun 23, 2016 at 5:53 comment added Andrew Savinykh @AndreyChernyakhovskiy the one I dealt with, was so polite/chatty that he forgot to stamp my passport on entry (that is entering Finland). I was detained on exit because there was no entry stamp in my passport. Luckily just for an hour until they realized what happened.
Jun 23, 2016 at 5:32 comment added Aron Otherwise, in Russia, country enter you!
Jun 23, 2016 at 5:31 comment added ach 'While the Finnish conductors and even the passport/toll people often seem rather nice (and I have heard one joke around with the passengers)' - Huh? Finnish? Nice? I once tried to be polite to one and greeted him with a 'Hyvää huomenta' - he interrogated me as to whether I'd learnt Finnish in order to illegally stay in Finland.
Jun 23, 2016 at 2:29 history answered Jan CC BY-SA 3.0